We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
864
331
75
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
331
75
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quod restaurant high street car park radcliffe camera modern art magpie university church perfect location lovely hotel bodleian library separate shower dreaming spires sister hotel boutique hotel reception staff fresh milk old parsonage
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel was wonderful. Amazing service, friendly staff, we had dinner and we could not fault it. I would stay again when next around the area. Thank you to the breakfast staff and concierge. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank MariaJaynehason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you very much. Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I hope your friends and family heed your advice and pay us a visit too?

Until next time...

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We booked a Sunday night here as a new year treat on a winter special package. What an absolute treat it was, from arriving and finding our reserved parking space right by the door right through to checking out and being told we could leave the car there whilst we went into town.

The staff were all incredibly polite and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely bathroom and a very handy coffee machine. Later in the evening we ordered a pizza on the room service menu which was delivered quickly and it was absolutely delicious.

Our package included breakfast which was cooked to order and again we couldn’t fault it for quality.

Overall I couldn’t fault the Old Bank, it has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff really made us feel welcome. We would definitely like to go back!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Smartie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you so much. After reading this review I was tempted to book a night’s stay myself! Who wouldn’t, with such a glowing testimonial...?

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

This is an excellent hotel with charming and helpful staff. The beds are extremely comfortable with lovely linen, good quality duvets etc. Small touches like fresh milk being brought to the room on request (nice selection of coffee and tea already available) were really appreciated.
The library is a lovely extra space for residents.
Very convenient for central Oxford too.
Can highly recommend 1 Ship Street for dinner; a 5-10 minute walk. We also visited the Old Bookbinders Ale House, a good 20-minute walk away, and enjoyed a very tasty French bistro-type meal.

Room Tip: first floor rooms overlooking the High St are spacious and very pleasant
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scottishmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you very much. Charming and helpful staff, comfortable beds with quality linen - what more could you ask of a hotel?

We look forward to welcoming you a third time!

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

This is a very nice hotel indeed, but it has to be said it isn't cheap.. you do get on site parking which does have a very tight entrance and currently fewer spaces than normal due to building refurbishment work, but that will only be temporary. The whole feel of the hotel and its Quod restaurant has you at ease within minutes of arriving. This is reinforced by staff that are attentive and polite. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. The central location is a great help and all the highlights of the city are within comfortable walking distance. Breakfast in the quod is delicious and the library is a really great place to read after a day out walking the sites. We wont stay anywhere else when we return to Oxford again, we enjoyed it that much!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front face the high street so may be a little noisier than those on the back.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for your glowing and gracious review, Peter. I am especially pleased to hear how comfortable you were made to feel upon arrival; this is precisely our intention, to make our guests feel welcome and relaxed.

I do hope you will visit us again soon?

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

First visit to Oxford in donkey's years. Wanted sonething central. Location perfect. Just a couple of streets away from the bus station. Booked standard double room with a view. Room offered two deep sash windows (with window seat cushions) and a nice view of St Mary The Virgin and the busy footway/passage to The Camera opposite. The receptionist had flagged up the fact it might be a bit noisy (buses, the pedestrian crossing bleeping, noisy students) when I booked. This was not a problem for us., There is secondary glazing and this was a Wednesday night - may be different at the weekend? The room was very well-appointed. Nice! Ensuite included bath, separate shower and twin wash-basins. Lots of lighting options and air-conditioning. The bed was fab. Checked out the mattress because it was so wonderfully comfortable - Vi Sprung! Downstairs the restaurant (the Quod) met our food needs perfectly too. All staff very pleasant and professional. I can say nothing negative. I would certainly choose to stay here again - unhesitatingly.

Room Tip: My understanding is you choose between view/an umdisturbed night's sleep. This mainly applies to Friday and Saturday nights.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you Angie - a wonderful summation of all that we strive to offer and do well. You would be hard pushed to find anywhere more central to stay in Oxford and I'm really pleased to hear you made the most of your visit.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews