We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really great hotel - you shouldnt be dissapointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really great hotel - you shouldnt be dissapointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Arriving here for one night as part of our honeymoon, we had one of the warmest welcomes from Natasha, who was kind enough to show us to our room - where we were kindly greeted by a bottle of champagne on ice!

The Hotel had a great feel - really suiting the oxford setting. The location is perfect for access to all the delights Oxford has to offer, such as botanical garderns, punting, radcliffe camera, shopping district to name but a few! The bicycles the hotel have are a great touch and a must if the weather is nice.

The car park is a great bonus and very well signposted (once you have been politely directed over the phone to the right side of Oxford!!!).

When leaving we met a couple who were visiting to celebrate their 30th anniversary - i have no doubt that if this hotel keeps up with itself, i'll be back for our 30th anniversary!!

Room Tip: the deluxe are just that little bit more spacious - worth it in my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 773RBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    286
    61
    19
    6
See reviews for
191
574
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Centrally located hotel with chic decor that manages to be consistent with the style of the older architecture in Oxford yet still modern and uncluttered. Lots of thoughtful touches, including bikes for use around town. Professional yet welcoming staff. Our room overlooked High Street--a busy place--but we were not bothered by noise (to be fair, though, we were on the top floor, so this may have minimized the impact of potential street activities). Location can't be beat (across from All Souls and just a little bit away from the Bodleian and other ...you can walk to just about all the key sites). The Old Bank also has a car park (a real rarity in town). Our room included a continental breakfast, which was big enough to carry us through the day with only a light lunch. We had one of the larger (and pricier) room because there were three in our family, but there was plenty of room. This is an expensive hotel, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: If you tend to be a light sleeper, you might want to ask about streets not facing the street (High S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHCNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I had a wonderful 24 hr stay in the Old Bank Hotel. Every single member of staff was caring and welcoming; the bed and linens so comfortable, and the hotel although full, was completely quiet at night. The courtyard was a delight to sit in and enjoy a coffee. And the location is superb, walk straight out onto The High and you are in very centre of Oxford. Food excellent too, highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are the quietest. Front faces the The High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynneinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Old Bank in early Sept. and enjoyed it so much that we returned a week later. The staff could not have been more welcoming, accommodating or professional. They went out of their way to ensure that our visits were comfortable and enjoyable. Let me give you an example. On our second visit, we checked in to a twin bedroom, and soon found that the loo was running. We went downstairs for a cocktail and mentioned the toilet issue to the front desk. The maintenance staff had gone home, so they offered us a new room, an upgrade at that!, and moved everything in our original room to the new room EXACTLY as it was. The Old Bank is a lovely place with a terrific staff. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

We love this hotel, its central location in the beautiful city of oxford the tasteful art on the walls, the fantastic bar and restaurant and most amazing food.

Its somewhere we always feel welcome, relaxed and able to truly indulge.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.9 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.6 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.5 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.8 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
De Vere Oxford Thames
#5 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.7 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price range (per night): $268 - $488
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing