We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and well paced walking tour”

Experience Oxfordshire - Oxford Official Walking Tours
Ranked #9 of 49 Tours in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Oxford Official Walking Tours are fun and informative. The best way to explore Oxford’s history, University, and what lies hidden behind the College gates is on foot with a professional Green Badge Guide. There is a tour for all interests including the popular City and University Tour (as an introduction) and tours for fans of Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland and Inspector Morse, as well as CS Lewis and Tolkien and Philip Pullman. Your tour will be conducted by a professionally trained guide who holds Green Badge awarded by the national Institute of Tourist Guiding. Your guide will also be a member of the Oxford Guild of Tour Guides, and able to answer any questions you may have and make suggestions of where else to see after your tour.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this walking tour booked at the tourist information office. Our guide Magnus was a knowledgeable, clear spoken and humourous expert. The tour took about 2 hours and visited the outside of most of the important colleges and buildings in Oxford. We were also able to visit the interior of Corpus Christi college and the ancient library/divinity school. There were about 15 people on our tour so it was easy to stand close to Magnus and hear his commentary. He was also adept at answering any questions we posed. The time went very quickly and we were kept interested throughout the walk. Highly recommended.

Thank Gordon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"inspector morse"
in 65 reviews
"city tour"
in 38 reviews
"morse tour"
in 36 reviews
"colin dexter"
in 27 reviews
"harry potter"
in 55 reviews
"two hours"
in 51 reviews
"hour tour"
in 39 reviews
"tourist office"
in 13 reviews
"the tourist information centre"
in 13 reviews
"divinity school"
in 26 reviews
"corpus christi"
in 7 reviews
"knew her stuff"
in 8 reviews
"excellent walking tour"
in 11 reviews
"ask questions"
in 9 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 9 reviews
"informative tour"
in 15 reviews
"trinity college"
in 8 reviews
Filter

106 - 110 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Excellent and very informative tour giving lots of information and amusing details of some unusual rituals that take place in some of the university colleges.

Thank RobTaylor1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours_Desk, Team Leader at Experience Oxfordshire - Oxford Official Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thanks so much for your review and booking with us - Victoria will be very pleased you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I loved this walking tour of Oxford! As someone who is both a Harry and Alice enthusiast, I was very pleased with what this tour and my guide had to offer! We ended up seeing 4-5 sites where Harry was filmed, as well as many other Oxford quirks which inspired both Harry and Alice. As a huge Alice fan, I wish I had gotten a bit more knowledge about Lewis Carroll and his life at Oxford, however I was in a group which was more interested in the Harry bits so it was understandable. I would highly recommend this tour!! It was fantastic, even in the rain :)

Thank ces2wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours_Desk, Team Leader at Experience Oxfordshire - Oxford Official Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thanks so much for your review! We're really pleased you can recommend it and enjoyed seeing the film sites, despite the weather! Thank you again for writing and booking with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Yesterday afternoon we went on the official walking tour, and thoroughly enjoyed it, while learning a lot about both the town and the University and the history of both. What made the tour unique was Brigitte's deep and long experience of living, studying and working in the area, which meant that she could tell us about the "real Oxford" based on her authoritative, first-hand experience. This must be the best way to get a feel for the place!

Thank cbukovics01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours_Desk, Team Leader at Experience Oxfordshire - Oxford Official Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, Brigitte your Guide will be delighted. It's really kind of you to take the time and we're really pleased you enjoyed your tour and can recommend it, thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

It was a very interesting and informative tour thanks to our enthusiastic guide David. We highly recommend it.

1  Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours_Desk, Team Leader at Experience Oxfordshire - Oxford Official Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thanks ever so much for your 5 star review and for booking with us, David will be really pleased!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Experience Oxfordshire - Oxford Official Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Experience Oxfordshire - Oxford Official Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing