We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lacklustre service”
Review of Dirty Bones Oxford

Dirty Bones Oxford
Reserve with OpenTable
Dirty Bones Oxford is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #210 of 715 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: USD 13 - USD 53
Description: Dirty Bones is all about serving best-in-class NYC-inspired comfort food and cocktails to a carefully curated playlist of old-school hip hop, funk and soul. Their New York roots are at the heart of everything they create, especially when it comes to their vibrant team, laid-back atmosphere and retro-inspired designs. Open for lunch (check out our £10 Lunch List Monday to Friday with a £5 drink bolt-on), dinner and drinks seven days a week, our Dirty DJs spin party gems and straight-up-old-school every Friday and Saturday from 9pm 'til late. For your recovery, our cure-all Bottomless Brunch Cocktails and dishes run every weekend from 11am. Cocktail Hour runs at Dirty Bones Oxford Monday to Friday, 3-7pm - think signature cocktails for £5.
Restaurant details
Description: Dirty Bones is all about serving best-in-class NYC-inspired comfort food and cocktails to a carefully curated playlist of old-school hip hop, funk and soul. Their New York roots are at the heart of everything they create, especially when it comes to their vibrant team, laid-back atmosphere and retro-inspired designs. Open for lunch (check out our £10 Lunch List Monday to Friday with a £5 drink bolt-on), dinner and drinks seven days a week, our Dirty DJs spin party gems and straight-up-old-school every Friday and Saturday from 9pm 'til late. For your recovery, our cure-all Bottomless Brunch Cocktails and dishes run every weekend from 11am. Cocktail Hour runs at Dirty Bones Oxford Monday to Friday, 3-7pm - think signature cocktails for £5.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

... What it says on the tin.
Beautiful food, reasonably priced
Service was rubbish.

It was very empty and 2 waiters came and stood next to us having a private conversation which seemed really unprofessional, then were asking each other why it was so quiet- i wonder why?

Me and my friend finished our food and waited for at least 10 or 15 minutes for the Bill while all the staff were then having a conversation about seating plans. I went to the paydesk and the lady walked off before coming back and giving us our receipt.

When i left i realised i had been charged for service, without being asked; I have been given better service in mcdonalds. Shame, because as I said- the food was lovely!

Before you guys wonder why you're quiet pleasd reflect on your pants service

Thank Imw121211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirtyBonesLDN, Manager at Dirty Bones Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hey lmw121211,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review; we know that feedback is what helps us to improve and very much appreciate it. Good to hear that the food was on point! However regarding the poor service, we're definitely going to pass on your messages to the team as this isn't the usual Dirty Bones standard. If you'd like to discuss your experience further do pop us an email on info@dirty-bones.com and our team will find out what went wrong that day.

Thanks again, and we do hope you'll give us another shot.
Team DB x



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The cocktails beforehand were fantastic and the bar is very cool. The food was great and we were up for a fun night out so didn’t mind that the music was deafening:-) but others may not appreciate it. If you order the cheesy chips and your server suggests you share, take her advice, they are mammoth.

Thank Glorialeicesterfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirtyBonesLDN, Manager at Dirty Bones Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hey,

Sounds like you were down for our DB vibes! We're all about those throwback tracks and old school jams. Thanks for leaving us a review; we're pumped you enjoyed the cocktails and hope that the mammoth fries were still delicious! :P

Hope to see you again soon!
DB Crew x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Great food and really great customer service! The restaurant has a beautiful view and Rebecca was amazing, very friendly and she is very professional in her job!

Thank roose993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirtyBonesLDN, Manager at Dirty Bones Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hey Roose993,

Boom! That's what we like to hear! Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback from your visit to our Oxford house, it's always great to hear we're doing something right! We'll pass on the good vibes to Rebecca.

Looking forward to having you down again for more cocktails and good times!
DB Crew x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were a group of ten celebrating three birthdays. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and plays some good music. The service was attentive with all drinks and food served promptly. As we were a large group we opted for the Feast Menu 1. All the food was good and served hot. The birthday people were served their dessert with a lighted candle. The bill was very reasonable, good value for money. We played Junkyard Golf downstairs in the Westgate Centre beforehand, that was a great way to start the evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JiveHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirtyBonesLDN, Manager at Dirty Bones Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi there JiveHoney,

Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! :) Good to hear that the vibes were on point for your evening. We hope you enjoyed dining from one of our Feast Menus - it's a great way to experience more of the menu and have a unique dining experience with your group!
Junkyard Golf sounds great! That doubled with NYC-inspired comfort food sounds like the one right now!

Thanks again and hope to see you down again in the future!
DB Crew x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Five of us ate here on Saturday. It wasn’t that busy. We waited almost half an hour just for our drinks and then a further God knows how long for our food. It didn’t seem like anyone wanted to serve us - no one asked if we were enjoying our food, or whether we needed anything. It took us ages just to even pay for the meal as no one seemed keen to supply us with a card machine. The waitresses were happy to congregate in a big group and ignore us instead.

The food was very nice, but I could definitely think of nicer burger joints (and ones which actually include a side in the price of the main). The one good thing was the venue which has great views over Oxford. Overall probably wouldn’t recommend.

Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirty Bones Oxford also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Dirty Bones Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing