We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed here for the night on the 6 May. Its a nice hotel converted from several victorian cottages. as its in a residential area there is very little if any parking. We did manage to get a spot several streets away, but i think this was more down to the fact it was a sunday and a bit of luck. the room was nice, although several of the fitting in the bathroom were broken and the grout could have done with a good scrub. The breakfast was sold as continential, well its a few small boxes of cerial and a half pint carton of milk in the fridge.

Oxford is a beautiful place, and i guess this hotel is very close to the town, so this is ideal if you dont have to park. Although im not sure i would have paid the full hotel price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise07Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    158
    76
    49
    35
See reviews for
73
261
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed at this small hotel last weekend, found everything to be wonderful.

The hotel is located in a residential area about a 10 minute walk into Oxford.

Parking is fine if you arrive late afternoon and park in a nearby street, hotel will advise you where. Parking in this street is free after 4pm and up until 11am the next day.

We stayed on a Groupon deal which made the overnight stay extremely reasonable.

The standard in the room was first class. Flat screen TV, extremely well fitted out, nice linen, great size bed. Small kitchen area, great bathroom in the style of a mini apartment with fridge , microwave the lot.

Breakfast was continental style, very generous basket containing good quality products, all in the room.

Oxford is great for a weekend and for a reasonable stay in a quiet location this small boutique hotel has got it right.

Will hope to return at a later date, great place, well done.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JETHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Me and my husband went to Manchester in November 2011 to watch a soccer match and after we decided to stop in Oxford for a few days. We had the best time ever at this hotel. So far this is one of the best hotel's we have stayed in England. Everything was great, the place, location, breakfast, all the pictures you see here are very accurate. This place is great. I recommend a 100% and would totally stay there again.
Thank you to all the staff there, the were great.
Andrea from Chicago-USA

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaChicago_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the Ethos for one night and had been given a lovely room on the top floor with its own kitchenette. It was fully equipped with plenty of stuff for breakfast (milk, muffins, cookies, cereals, coffee, tea etc.)
The decor is very modern and clean and the whole place feels light and airy with lots of windows on all sides.
Very comfortable huge bed!!
The Wifi connection was excellent and very reliable.
I arrived by train and walked from the train station, which took about 15min. The town center is only about 7-10min walk away, so you are centrally located, but still get a quiet night's sleep.
The only slightly negative comment I have is that the staff member was a bit odd. He seemed very desinterested and when he showed me the room (my boyfriend arrived later that day), he walked up the stairs in front of me and had me carry our heavy suitcase up behind him.
Overall, a great little hotel, which could be amazing if the staff had the right attitude.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SindyBergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great location, beautiful room! When we arrived we had been upgraded to the luxury sky suite. The room is lovely (room 12) . We only stayed one night but we will return. We were a bit skeptical due to a few bad comments on TripAdvisor but this place is the way to go! Also very quiet so you get the perfect nights sleep!

Room Tip: Room 12 is just lovely- its a split level suite and it's at the top so its quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.1 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.7 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,734 reviews
0.8 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
672 reviews
2.3 km away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
734 reviews
1.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethos Hotel & Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethos Hotel & Caffe

Property: Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Address: 59 Western Road | Grandpont, Oxford OX1 4LF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price range (per night): $183 - $379
Hotel Class:4 star — Ethos Hotel & Caffe 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the very heart of Oxford, this stylish and contemporary hotel offers luxurious boutique-style accommodation with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and satellite TV with free movie and sports channels. In a quiet residential area, Ethos Hotel Oxford has a great location, within easy walking distance of the University's colleges and all of the city's shops, bars and restaurants. Sleek, stylish and modern, all of the rooms and suites are individually styled and luxuriously appointed with state-of-the-art facilities. The Ethos Hotel has been highly acclaimed, with the Sunday Times saying an "excellent addition to the scene is the chic, contemporary Ethos." The friendly and professional multilingual staff offers affordable service and amenities specifically chosen for the needs of business and pleasure travelers. Guests are entitled to reduced rates at a nearby spa, gym and pool. Caffe Ethos offers full cooked English Breakfast to start your day and serves a selection of pastries, coffee, tea, drinks and snacks all day. Relax in the evening with stone-baked Barrel & Stone Pizza, dinner menu and choice of wines, beers or cocktails. Open to hotel guests and non-guests. Limited car parking is available at a charge per night - advance booking is require and must be checked with the hotel to book prior to arrival. Small Pets are accepted subject to availability or limited rooms. There is a charged per night, per pet and these must be checked and booked with the hotel prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ethos Hotel & Caffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethos Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing