We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (977)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveller rating
421
267
156
84
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
267
156
84
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking roll top bath converted brewery the river champagne bar free standing bath studio suite wet room candy floss huge shower dom perignon suite henley hotel lovely hotel nespresso machine two floors course dinner set menu
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 977 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Great service, people working there are amazing .
Good value for the quality.
Food are well presented and good.
Room attended, did my room wi5h perfection.
Amazing hotel in amazing area .
Well worth it .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank teixeira75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rojan J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Hi Teixeira75,

Thanks you for a great review. I will make sure your feedback is forwarded to our team as they would love to hear what you have to say.

Thanks

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

It was my 40th and mums 70th. Reception commented on this when we checked in and that was it - summed up the hotel, no attention to detail, mediocre customer service and a general air of ‘meh’.

Plenty of staff milling about but no one really taking charge. A tired feeling about the place and everyone working within it.

5 star prices without the service or ambiance to match.

Evening fixed price meal perfectly ok, good value, but half empty restaurant on a Friday night said it all.

Glad we hadn’t paid for breakfast as it looked uninspiring and several nice independent options near by - try ‘spoons’ cafe/deli really nice.

Shame as the price tag didn’t match the reality. Nice bathroom and good shower though!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rojan J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Hi Lynsey13,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry the hotel was not up to your expectation. I will make sure your feedback is taken onboard and that we put measures in place to improve.

I do hope you give us another chance in the near future.

Thanks

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this hotel (Friday and Saturday). We booked a “large double” which was an absolute joke as it was quite possibly the smallest hotel bedroom I have ever stayed in, with just a standard double (not king size). That being said the decor was nice and the bathroom was decent. Over our entire stay service was very disappointing, from our dealings with reception to bar staff to restaurant staff, no one really seemed to know what they were doing. Over our entire stay there didn’t appear to be any management around overseeing the more junior staff. You do really need to improve management visibility and provide better training to the new staff members. Patrons that visit this hotel are expecting (and paying for) a 4* service, when this isn’t provided it can’t help but disappoint. After leaving on Sunday feeling slightly ripped off we were even more annoyed (when checking our bank account) to see that the reception staff has debited £10.50 from our bank account. When I phoned to question this they said it was for a bottle of red wine that we had drank from the mini bar. Which we had not! In all my years staying in hotels around the world this has never happened anywhere before. Very very disappointed.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Curiosity360535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rojan J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hi curiosity360535,

I am very sorry about the issues you faced during your recent stay. We have had a change in personnel in the bistro and are working very hard to bring up the standards. We do not have any excuses and just got it wrong.

Please do give us another chance to show we have improved and are delivering your familiar hdv service.

Thanks

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We visited for two nights and when we left we were really disappointed. We arrived and found our room very dark and quite small for what we paid for, we had booked a large. The bed side light was broken and we reported this at the time. It was never fixed. We then ordered the most expensive G&T’s ever as the bar is far over priced, the staff appeared to be very young, inexperienced and not trained. For a 4*hotel to not have an experienced bar person was astounding. They could not serve cocktails as they were not trained. It was almost like a Saturday kid was in charge. After a good nights sleep we went to breakfast, the service was slow, the knowledge of the menu was nil. When asked what was in one of the food jars the staff member did not know. Breakfast arrived and the toast arrived about five minutes later. No one appeared in charge of the staff, who again were all young and inexperienced. To pay over £400 for two nights visit and valet parking was a bit of a joke. When speaking to staff about it, they apologised and said they’d rectify it. It was too later for us, but avoid the disappointment and book else where.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chris8urton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rojan J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hi Chris8urton,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am very sorry regarding the issues you faced the bar and breakfasts.

I have passed your feedback on to our bar and bistro manager. They will look at training our floor staff so these type of issues do not happen again.

Thanks

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Just got back from 2 nights in this hotel considering how much we paid the service and the quality of the hotel was very disappointing.
The rooms are slightly shabby the bin in the bathroom falling to bits why not replace this small item., when paying £240 a night I do expect better.
No way is this hotel a 4*
The breakfast was a complete joke about 5 people complaining this morning the service is absolutely terrible when we raised this with the front desk they just laughed!
They really need to look at getting some leadership in the restaurant.
They also charge you £20 a day for valet parking!
Will not return to this hotel very disappointed.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank _evesingleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rojan J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hi _evesingleton,

Thank you very much for your review.

I apooogise about the issues you faced during your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with the head housekeeper and the bistro manager. We will take necessary actions to ensure we rectify these issues and improve our offering.

I hope you give us another chance to show that we have received your feedback and worked on issues you mentioned.

Thanks

Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews