We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and Great House !!!”
other travellers have booked this property
oak framed house with fabulous gardens to enjoy throughout the year. Ask about our wedding licence.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
oak framed house with fabulous gardens to enjoy throughout the year. Ask about our wedding licence.
The Copse and its garden, nestle in a private valley formal dining room open plan to sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
oak framed house with fabulous gardens to enjoy throughout the year. Ask about our wedding licence.
The Copse and its garden, nestle in a private valley
formal dining room open plan to sitting room
formal sitting room with open fireplace
formal sitting room with open fireplace 2
one of the 5 en suite bedrooms
14 seat cinema with Sky channels, dvd, apple TV
main kitchen with Aga, second kitchen adjacent
4 oven Aga
kitchen breakfast room seating
master bedroom ground floor
breakfast room
second sitting room/breakfast room opening to terrace with hot tub
entrance hall opening to courtyard
always warm and welcoming with lights, jets and music on the terrace
outdoor dining for 14 and brick BBQ
another master bedroom with balcony
arctic cabin barbecue hut in the woods
arctic cabin barbecue hut
seating for 14
upstairs bedroom 1
adjacent double bedroom ground floor
upstairs bedroom 2
upstairs bedroom 1
feed our baby ducks in spring
upstairs bathroom to balcony bedroom
another view of upstairs bedroom 2
master bathroom ground floor
purple bathroom top floor
mill lane bathroom top floor
wild flower meadows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Strakes76
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and Great House !!!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

A group of 14 of us stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday. We found the house and the location both amazing and beautiful. It clearly has a homely feel to it which makes it even more of a special place to stay.

Although the weather outside was not great, we managed to still enjoy the countryside, gardens and of course the hot tub !! The cinema room also was well used and had a lot of DVDs and TV channels to choose from.

The house is great for all ages including children, as in out party there were 6 (from 3 months to 7 years).

Well worth a stay !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect home in the English Countryside!”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I live in Los Angeles with my wife who is a scriptwriter and I produce films. We came to The Copse with 5 other Californian couples for a wedding in the summer. It was a perfect choice. Our guests are still talking about it. We made the most of the house and garden, cooking on the terrace, evening drinks in the courtyard, walks in the fields. We were close to Henley and Oxford and explored both using local guides. We loved coming home in the evening to relax and cook and chat and plan the next day's adventure. This is a gorgeous property and we have so many happy memories of staying here. In fact two of our guests tore up their return plane tickets and decided to stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The landscape is breathtaking and relaxing while being close to quaint Henley.
Liked least: The fact that I couldn't stay longer.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the house itself, the owners
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kerchiss
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely hen weekend ”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a fab time here for my hen do. We wanted something quiet and this was perfect. Theories is huge!! Plenty of lovely big bedrooms, plenty of bathrooms. 2 kitchens, 2 dining rooms, 2 lounges! Plenty of space, luxurious surroundings. Great for a big gathering! Cinema room is great! The ground are amazing too! Would stay again.
Only downsides were that the hot tub was not working and lots of ants in the master bedrooms shower!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
We are delighted you had such a great time and want to come back. You would be most welcome and I am really grateful to you for leaving a review. I have looked into the issues that you had. These were flying ants as I understand it, and sometimes they come inside when windows are open and lights are on? I do apologise that they were a nuisance. According to the engineer the hot tub had fused, possibly previous guests had turned up the temperature too high. So I am really sorry it was not working properly. We do now ask guests not to alter the settings and have not had a problem since. Do contact us if you want to come back as we are happy to offer a discount to make amends for these issues. Best regards, Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJW_11
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect setting for the perfect birthday weekend!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We wanted a property that would sleep 12 adults and my young niece and nephew to celebrate my 40th - this was absolutely perfect. The owners were incredibly helpful, and incredibly patient when I was late paying, and as warm and welcoming in person when we arrived. They ask for suggestions for improvements and there was nothing we could add. It is a stunning, well-equipped and homely property - the cinema is amazing, the walk across the field to the pub fantastic and my only hesitation in recommending this place is that getting used to life without a hot tub is hard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's all wonderful but the cinema is outstanding
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing