We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing out hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
1 review
“Disappointing out hotel.”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I booked two rooms with my saved up priority points for my family for my birthday.

Check in went smoothly and service seemed good. The two rooms were on separate floors as one was a double and the other a twin with two double beds. The double room was fine though the mirror had a large crack in it.

The main issues were with the twin room. Lighting in the rooms is not good and one of the main lamps had no bulb in it. After having a bath the water didn't drain away then water started flowing out of the back of the toilet. We basically had to change rooms 5 times due to water/sewage issues and broken lights. Compensation was breakfast in the restaurant, the food on offer was fine but lacking in choice and not worth £15-20. The hotel is designed to look upmarket but on closer inspection there are broken lights, damaged chairs, broken mirrors etc. Even the basics like towels are awful, they need to invest in new or at least use fabric softener.

Overall very disappointed and will stick with hiltons in future.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
I was disapointed to read your comments, as you will see from the majority of reviews, we pride ourselves on our service standards.

With our drive for service in mind, I would be grateful if you would call me personally to discuss your stay, my number is 01608 673333
Thanks
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    439
    270
    102
    63
See reviews for
240
535
15
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was a very small room - sitting at the desk the chair was wedged against the bed. The single, comfortable, chair was located in the window alcove which offered no view of the TV.
While it was nicely appointed, and modern, with a comfortable bed, it's not a room I would want to spend time relaxing in. A couple would have to sit on the bed to talk to each other, and I certainly wouldn't want to get room service in there.

The single window was small, in the corner of the room, behind a tree, and didn't even appear to open - which meant having the lights on during the day, and the aircon on at night.

However, there are quite extensive and pleasant public areas in the hotel, and the lounge / bar service was very good.

And for other priority club members, there was no acknowledgement of platinum status, but this is quite normal (for reward nights).

The surroundings are great, and there are plenty of places to relax - just not in a standard room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_M62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your coments, we have various types of room sizes at the Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park, perhaps on your next visit we can arange an Executive Room for you.

Please feel free to let me know when you are next in the area, my number is 01608 673333.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Firstly, the property is relatively new (opened 2010) and set in lovely grounds. The "hard product" is excellent; i.e. the standard of rooms and overall appearance. That is were it ends! Scratch the surface and the property is simply unacceptable.

Mobile phone signal: - this is a hotel situated between Oxford and Banbury, southern United Kingdom (about 55 miles from London). Yes it is "rural" but NOT in "the middle of nowhere". The hotel is marketed as a conference and business hotel. There is NO mobile phone signal save for Orange, which works only on GPRS when sat near the reception desk. Therefore it is impossible to conduct a telephone call in private and/or use data services. For a business grade UK hotel in 2012 this is absolutely ridiculous. Reading through other reviews on Trip Advisor the "Resort Director" will assure reviewers (way back to early 2011) that this is being sorted "within a few weeks". Well, how come in the 2nd quarter of 2012 this is still an ongoing issue? The cynical side of me suggests the hotel is "happy" with this situation in order to boost revenue from expensive in room telephone calls and/or expensive in room internet. I have to wonder how the hotel remains a serious contender in the conference business with this situation.

Other reviewers have made negative comment concerning the restaurant. Well, they are correct. Staff treated me (a single diner) with contempt. Shown to the worse table in the house early in the service. Couples were given the choice of favourable tables. PC Platinum? Don't expect that to work in the restaurant if alone!

Standard of food was diabolical. Breakfast is charged at £20, you can obtain the "discounted" price of £14.95 on check in. For that price I expect an extensive buffet not the "rubbish" offered at this property. No hash browns, no black pudding, no fried bread, just undercooked sausage, overcooked bacon, and "scrambled egg" resembling some powdered rubbish served in World War 2! The pastries were a sorry looking collection of a few croissants and indescribable bread items in a basket in the corner of the room! I have saw better presented and better stocked breakfast buffets in budget hotels. For the price, this is nothing short of a disgrace!

The lounge menu was the usual collection of burgers and comfort food; however, I asked for a simple cooking request; i.e. bacon to be well done and crispy, it came back pink with fat all over it! Price? Over £16, again a disgrace!

This is a 4 star hotel; however, the mini bar needs to be "requested"; obviously don't trust the customers at this property! However, in my case I also needed to request the fridge! I was in an executive room and there was no fridge to fill with mini bar goods! What on earth is going on?

On the Sunday, my room was serviced at 15:30. I had been out all morning. This again is not acceptable. The new hotel "day" commences at 14:00. One does not want to be sitting in one's room waiting for housekeeping to turn up late afternoon/early evening. I would like to relax knowing I am not going to be interrupted.

Check out was equally farcical with not enough staff even though the property knew a conference was checking in early Monday morning. Therefore a 10 minute wait to check out! And when I did check out I was given someone else's bill!

Overall this is the worse IHG property I have stayed at in over 3 years. Without doubt it is the worse level of service experienced at an IHG property within the UK in the over 12 years I have been regularly sending my business.

A total disgrace, get it sorted!

Room Tip: PC Platinum should secure you an upgrade at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tgsh2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, which I have to say are the opposite of the standard comments in our hotel, perhaps on your next visit to a property you will let the hotel know that it is not meeting your expectations, rather than letting them read them on Trip Advisor, when they can do very little about it.

I do recognise that on this exceptional case, we did not meet your expectaions and with that in mind I would be greatful if you could give me a call on 01608 673333.
Thanks
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed one night and it is a very modern and well presented hotel. The room was clean and adequate and the staff very nice. If you are looking for a hotel with nice grounds for a walk and wonder this is for you. Not sure it was worth the 115 pounds but that was the only grumble I had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidiafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop in the near future.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Hotel is beautiful, clean and staff friendly. Lovely surroundings with lots of wildlife. Due to location need a car to get anywhere, but lovely and peaceful.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can as some rooms quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thanks for the great comments, we were all delighted to read them, it makes all of the training worth while.

Hopefully we'll see you soon at Heythrop.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 km away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
993 reviews
29.8 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
36.7 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
198 reviews
20.3 km away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,072 reviews
14.5 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Property: Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price range (per night): $150 - $303
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing