We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastern Promise ”

Spice Lounge Burford
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

I visited Spice Lounge as it was near the top of the rankings and I fancied a curry. The poppadoms were great. Not the usual flat as a pancake type but curly and gnarled and perfect for holding the accompanying chutneys. One I had never tasted before, tomato and garlic, was particularly tasty. I started with the Chicken Momo. Shredded chicken in a wrap. Very nice. I then had a Sheek Kebab with Tarka Dal and some Peshwari Naan. Great combination. All washed down with a couple of glasses of Mango Lassi. Perfect.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasaachi, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Drew,

Thank you very much for your kind note and for highlighting our service and food. Your kind words and effort to share this with us is well appreciated. We are happy to hear, you had a memorable time here. We spend a lot of time on special training to optimize personalized service and selection of talents. It's nice to see that our effort in Service and our food found its recognition, see you again soon.

Thanks again and best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Loved this restaurant, a great lively but friendly atmosphere combined with great service and amazing food!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank sedleycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasaachi, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Sedley,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, it is very important that we hear back from our guests and from this we learn and improve our service and food.

We are glad to hear that our staff keep you happy and again thank you for taking the time to review us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We had a fantastic meal at this restaurant. It was quiet because it was an autumn Sunday night in Burford so not massively busy, but the service was good and the food is the best Indian food we've had for ages. The reason I haven't given 5 stars is because personnel from the restaurant were sitting in the window seats yelling into their mobiles which was a bit distracting.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasaachi, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Ruth,

Thank you so much for your encouraging review. We are happy that our menu found your appreciation. I will certainly share with my team your kind remarks on the service provided for further motivation.
We hope to see you soon again.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Having lived most of our lives in London and with frequent trips to India on holiday and business, I am very well acquainted with authentic Indian cuisine and can honestly say that this is one of the best Indian restaurants I've eaten at.
It is probably true that there are better, very high end Indian restaurants in London. However, Burford is very spoilt as this is almost faultless.
The service was professional, speedy and friendly.
The ambience was welcoming and comfortable.
But the real star of the show was the food which was universally well presented, expertly cooked, beautifully flavoured and a real pleasure to eat.
If they can maintain this standard, we will certainly return time and again.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Andrewmpbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasaachi, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to write an overwhelming review, Our staff take their roles very seriously and try every day to provide that quality customer service to meet the expectations of our guests, we are glad that you had a wonderful time :)

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The overall impression that my wife & I had was the seemingly loyal clientele who thought the food is authentic & who didn't know any better due to the lack of choice in the area.In other words,they have nothing to compare with & therefore no experience of the real Indian cuisine which should be full of flavor & not BLAND like the food presented in this pretend Indian restaurant.We also felt that the restaurant owner & the staff had poor knowledge of what Indian food in India is all about,as if they were making it up as they go along.To be fair the staff are very friendly,smiley & approachable & the prices fairly reasonable if only the food was actually worthy of it.Picture this though,when clearing the table,the plates are just piled up on top of each in front of the customer without any style or effort.In conclusion,we wish we had bought our dinner in the Coop store opposite instead.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Georges C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Lounge Burford also viewed

 

Been to Spice Lounge Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing