We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for 2 people”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dickman's Cottage

Dickman's Cottage on Mill Lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dickman's Cottage on Mill Lane
Dickman's Cottage and Garden The Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Dickman's Cottage on Mill Lane
Dickman's Cottage and Garden
The Living Room
The Kitchen
The Dining Room
The Double Bedroom
The Twin Room
Dickman's Cottage Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
winonhols
county durham
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Ideal for 2 people”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We shared the cottage with 2 friends for 3 nights whilst supporting The Outlaw competition. Originally our friend was going to share with one of the other competitors but he unfortunately had to drop out so we stepped in. The cottage is ideal for a couple but a bit of a squeeze for 4 adults. Having said that we managed fairly well as we were out most of the time. The main problem is having only one toilet which is in the bathroom and having shifts for showers etc.

The cottage is immaculately clean and has everything you could need. We brought certain items with us such as toilet rolls, dishwasher tablets, tea and coffee but there were ample stocks of all. The bedding was clean and fresh and a good supply of towels and a heated towel rail in the bathroom keeps them dry and warm.

The stairs are very steep so the cottage would not be good if you had a disability and if you are tall, watch your head as there are low beams and ceilings which my husband found out several times!

It rained most of the time we were here (typical English July!) but the cottage was warm and cosy inside. The Lambley pub is a 2 minute walk from the cottage and we ate here for 2 nights and can highly recommend it, the food was delicious. The Woodcutter Arms had a very limited menu so we did not eat there but The Four Bells at Woodborough was a 5 minute drive and was also excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feather duvets
Liked least: Only having one toilet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaLi1806
Kirchheim unter Teck, Germany
1 review
“Very nice and beautiful cottage to have a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful time in Lambley. The Cottage ist very beautiful with a wonderful garden (perfect for Easter Egg Hunts :-)
Thank you very much for having us

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublinboo
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Looked forward to.returning home every evening.”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic weekend stay here.flying ryanair and with our 5 month old in tow it was wonderful to arrive into this gorgeous house.
We'd done a shop enroute and bought all the basics.we needn't have bothered.there were lots of bits such as tea,coffee,sugar,herbs etc provide.
There was a constant supply of hot water,the place was always cosy warm and the beds were super comfy.
We spent v little time in the village as we were using the house as a base to visit family in Nottingham and babs prevented any late nights.
We did have sunday lunch in the woodlark which was v tasty and reasonable.there are 3 pubs close by,one literally a two min walk away.
There is wifi in the cottage,be warned mobile coverage is patchy.it wasn't a problem for us as it was kindly stated that the landline could be used for local calls.the car parking is super secure to the point that i couldn't figure out where my husband had parked the first evening.
Lastly there is a,local shop at the end of the lane.we never made it there as we were always returning late evening and it was closed on Sunday.
The only slight criticism I'd have was that there was v little food storage place in the kitchen and I'd imagine if you were trying to cook for a family it would be quite cramped.however it is an old cottage so to be expected really.
If you want a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle this is the house and village for you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne J
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Really lovely cottage. Excellent location near to places of interest . The cottage was beautiful cozy,clean couldn't ask for better. If I manage another few days off I will re book this as there are a few places we didn't get to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Truthfully . Everything.
Liked least: Beds were very hard.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyABe...
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay here. The cottage is beautiful, very nicely maintained and well equipped with everything you need. There's plenty of bedding (we loved the feather duvets), towels, dishwasher tabs, nice selection of DVDs etc. Personally I also loved the bit of history contained in the welcome pack - we spotted the initials of a previous owner carved into a brick!

My tip is if you want to eat out in the village on a Sunday or Monday night, plan ahead and book somewhere. On Sundays the Robin Hood and the Woodlark both close their kitchens so the one remaining pub (The Langley Village Kitchen) was packed and turned us away. On Mondays the Woodlark remains closed, the Robin Hood holds it popular steak night and gets booked up, as was the LVK. In fact we never managed to eat in the LVK and were repeatedly turned away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing