We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
304
286
172
54
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
286
172
54
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleep spray crash pad nottingham castle boutique hotel white company four poster the penthouse lovely hotel city centre car park coffee machine executive room bar area discounted rate top floor few minutes walk saturday night
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

OMG!!!!!!.... Absolutely Amazing penthouse suite,total luxury,glamour & pure indulgence,from the minute we entered to the moment we very reluctantly had to leave,we were made to feel very Very special by all the fabulous attentive staff ( thanks So much ) , Nothing was too much trouble.
We just didn't want to leave & return to reality.
If you're thinking of booking this wonderful boutique hotel ( do it )
We Would Definitely recommend it & that you go that little bit further & book this simply Stunning suite as in our opinion its well worth every single penny ( and more ) ,and We WILL be back Very soon.
David & Allison Knight .
Mansfield .

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 5BIGEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in our Penthouse Suite, your comments are very much appreciated.

It was lovely to read such wonderful comments referring to the Penthouse Suite. I am delighted that it exceeded your expectations, especially as you were celebrating your birthday.

We have worked extremely hard to create a stylish boutique hotel, so it is always pleasing to receive such amazing feedback. I will of course pass on your comments to the rest of my team.

Once again, many thanks for your comments and we look forward to meeting you again on your return visit to the St James Hotels.

Kindest regards

Chris Harrison
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We went for fireworks night. Great service included a tour of the penthouse. Private dining room and lounge. A great place to unwind. We had breakfast delivered up to us while chilling in our dressing gowns. Great bathroom with massive spa bath. TV'S everywhere and a coffee machine. Would stay again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank TheClearyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Dear guest

Thank you or taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel.

It was lovely to read your fantastic comments relating to your stay in our Penthouse Suite, we are vey proud of our Penthouse Suite and are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, many thanks for your great feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the St James Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Chris Harrison
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

A group of us stayed on New Year's Eve and attended the hotel's dinner dance. The hotel has interesting decor which sets it apart, this is in the public areas and the bedrooms. Our room was a good size and comfortable and included gowns, slippers and bottles of water. Nice touches. Breakfast was good although the breakfast area is on the small size and hence a bit crowded when the hotel is busy.

The function was enjoyable with good food. The table magician was excellent. It was good being next to Nottingham Castle and having a good view of the fireworks from the function room windows.

So why not 5 stars, we found the bar area to be a bit chilly, the service at the function at bit over attentive in that every time we returned from the dance floor our glasses had been cleared away despite there being bottles of wine on the table, breakfast was a bit chaotic and I always have a problem with being charged for parking at a hotel.

Relatively minor points and the St James is a good hotel. I would stay again.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank SHandS-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your New Years Eve stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have worked very hard to create a unique boutique styled hotel, so it is especially rewarding to receive such great feed back.

Your comments regarding breakfast have been taken on board, but as you may appreciate with a full hotel and a night of celebrating most guests opted to take breakfast a little later, unfortunately this did make the Restaurant very busy very quickly.

It was also a pleasure to learn that you attended our Black & White New Years Eve Ball and that you had an enjoyable evening with us. As an independent boutique hotel we focus highly on the theming of all our events and pride ourselves on the standard of service we provide, so I am sorry that you found my team a little over attentive.

Being located on the edge of the City centre we unfortunately do not have private parking facilities on site, hence we offer our guests concessionary parking in the spaces at the side of the hotel or in the multi storey.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Chris Harrison
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Excellent location for exploring Nottingham City Centre. Accommodation clean and well presented. Trendy looking bar / breakfast area. Breakfast offers a lot of choice. Beds good kingsize and very comfortable. Warm room. Nice to be able to open the small window; I hate aircon.
Only issues were lack of lift to top / 6th floor (due to ongoing maintenance at time of visit) so we had to climb some stairs with cases, lack of fridge in room (appears all removed as cupboard shows signs of wear) and a washbasin which did not hold water. That said happily stayed 2 nights.
If hotel staff reading this, recommend housekeeping should inspect chrome shower curtain poles as our rusting and needs clean with steel pad.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated.

It was great to read your comments in relation to your stay and that your accommodation exceeded your expectations, being clean and well presented. Your feedback regarding the sink in your room have been noted and actioned.

The hotel is as we speak carrying out a programme of works to replace all of the chrome shower rails. Unfortunately none of our rooms other that our Penthouse Suite offer the use of a fridge facility.

As you have outlined, we have had on going works with one of our lifts, however I am happy to report that this is due to be completed by the end of January.

It was also nice to read your comments regarding breakfast, I will of course pass on your comments to the rest of my team.

Once again, thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards

Chris Harrison
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

I would really recomend to others,its very beautiful and clean hotel. I would come back. One problem is that the mattress is very soft, to soft. When you sit on the bed you even jump like on trampoline.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank ramintav2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your feedback is very much appreciated.

It was nice to read that you found our hotel to very beautiful and clean and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments referring to the bed and soft mattress in your room have been noted, however all of our beds have Hypnos mattresses, but fully understand that firmness is down to personal preference.

Once again, many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your return visit.

Kind regards

Chris Harrison
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews