We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful bresk”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Peartree Cottage

Peartree Cottage in an acre of garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peartree Cottage in an acre of garden.
The porch is handy for boots and coats, and there's loads of parking Peartree Cottage which has three bedrooms and two bathrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Peartree Cottage in an acre of garden.
The porch is handy for boots and coats, and there's loads of parking
Peartree Cottage which has three bedrooms and two bathrooms
The fish pond, children (and adults) can feed the fish.
Table and chairs for alfresco eating or barbecuing
Sandhoe Lane at rush hour !
Sandhoe Lane - an afternoon in late summer
The wooden spiral staircase to the first floor
A cosy log burning stove, all wood and kindling are provided
A corner of the kitchen and dining area which seats six
The double bedroom on the first floor
Downstairs bedroom with its own connecting bathroom
Twin-bedded room on the first floor
The wild flower meadow opposite the cottage
The lane to Peartree Cottage
Stunning views across the Valley - just a 3 minute walk from the cottage
View on the way to Corbridge, tangled hedgerows and quiet fields
The wildflower meadow with a maze of paths mown in - a favourite with the children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zonadip
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful bresk”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband booked this beautiful cottage for ourselves & our 10 year old daughter. Absolutely beautiful!
The cottage is very looked after,clean & well equipped. The owner Helen is very friendly & even left a little tub of fish food by the door for our daughter to feed the fish daily. She loved it! Throughly recommend,stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Many thanks for your kind words, it was a delight to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“An idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Spent a week there with family to celebrate a special birthday. The cottage was ideal for our family and friends get-together. It was spacious and warm with the spiral staircase and 'bridge' as quirky extras. The grounds and garden led to a feeling of seclusion, despite being close to both Corbridge and Hexham. Well-situated for visits to Blanchland, the Derwent Reservoir and Hadrian's Wall. Eat at the Dipton Mill for excellent home-cooking and to meet the locals. Helen was welcoming and very helpful throughout our stay.
We had a most memorable time and will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling of space and light in the cottage
Liked least: Shower in upstairs bathroom, not very accessible
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thanks, it is a great place for family get togethers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A comfortable and friendly house in a peaceful location.”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A beautifully finished house with good use made of the space available. Very well equiped and comfotable. Good location, quiet but easy access to lots of places to visit. Great outdoor space for the children to explore. A very friendly owner who is close by and happy to chat to the children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: presentation of the house, furnishings etc.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thanks, your children were lovely. It is a good place for children to play and roam about.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“great host great cottage and great location”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We are a family of 5, two boys, 51/2 and 21/2 and baby girl 4 months. found the property on owners direct, was very easy to book after a few emails to the owner. the directions to the cottage were very easy to follow. the cottage is in a beautiful location in very quiet countryside. there is plenty of parking and if you have a car full of chldren and belongings its good as you can park right outside the door, to load and unload. the facilities within the cottage were excellent, exactly what we needed and more. the outside space was also good for running around or sitting outside for a qiuet moment or bite to eat, we just had to keep a close eye on our toddler near the pond. there is also a spiral staircase to the first floor, we told our toddler to be really careful coming down and he didnt seem to have any problems. the cottage is ony located about 40/45 minuts from the coast we had a great day out at Druridge Bay and coutry Park and Newbiggin by the sea, also visited Almwick gardens and Beamish. All in all a really enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the facilities within the cottage
Liked least: having to pay extra for cot and highchair
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
The cottage is right in middle for going to the coast, the city or the Roman Wall. There is lots to do for kids from a Farm Icecream parlour to looking at the old gaol in Hexham.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moomar_12
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peartree Cottage is perfect.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks and were a mixed bag - due to an accident I did not arrive until 1 week later. My husband, our Swiss friends and my 93 year old mother had a wonderful 2 weeks and I had a glorious week. Our children and grandchildren joined us on 5th August and they too found it perfect in every way. My husband had stayed there 3 years ago and found it just a exceptional this time. None of us wanted to leave and shall try to return as often as we are able.
Spiral staircase might be worrying for some but my 5 year old grandson and 20 month old grandaughter were perfectly fine with supervision.
The layout of the cottage makes if feel spacious and even the weather brightened up and was glorious throughout our stay.
The owner,Helen Stephenson, was a kind, helpful and exceptionally lovely person. I shall miss her as much as the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful gardens, wonderful views. Actually simply wonderful all round
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thanks for your kind words!

I am thrilled when people have a good time, holidays should be memorable!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing