We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peartree Cottage is perfect.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Peartree Cottage

Peartree Cottage in an acre of garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peartree Cottage in an acre of garden.
The porch is handy for boots and coats, and there's loads of parking Peartree Cottage which has three bedrooms and two bathrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Peartree Cottage in an acre of garden.
The porch is handy for boots and coats, and there's loads of parking
Peartree Cottage which has three bedrooms and two bathrooms
The fish pond, children (and adults) can feed the fish.
Table and chairs for alfresco eating or barbecuing
Sandhoe Lane at rush hour !
Sandhoe Lane - an afternoon in late summer
The wooden spiral staircase to the first floor
A cosy log burning stove, all wood and kindling are provided
A corner of the kitchen and dining area which seats six
The double bedroom on the first floor
Downstairs bedroom with its own connecting bathroom
Twin-bedded room on the first floor
The wild flower meadow opposite the cottage
The lane to Peartree Cottage
Stunning views across the Valley - just a 3 minute walk from the cottage
View on the way to Corbridge, tangled hedgerows and quiet fields
The wildflower meadow with a maze of paths mown in - a favourite with the children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moomar_12
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peartree Cottage is perfect.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks and were a mixed bag - due to an accident I did not arrive until 1 week later. My husband, our Swiss friends and my 93 year old mother had a wonderful 2 weeks and I had a glorious week. Our children and grandchildren joined us on 5th August and they too found it perfect in every way. My husband had stayed there 3 years ago and found it just a exceptional this time. None of us wanted to leave and shall try to return as often as we are able.
Spiral staircase might be worrying for some but my 5 year old grandson and 20 month old grandaughter were perfectly fine with supervision.
The layout of the cottage makes if feel spacious and even the weather brightened up and was glorious throughout our stay.
The owner,Helen Stephenson, was a kind, helpful and exceptionally lovely person. I shall miss her as much as the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful gardens, wonderful views. Actually simply wonderful all round
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thanks for your kind words!

I am thrilled when people have a good time, holidays should be memorable!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: We had difficulty understanding the heating system.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thanks for your great feedback There are so many lovely reunions and family gathering at Peartree, it makes me happy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thanks. Yes, it is a quick and easy route to Newcastle but you are still in the heart of the country here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2012 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing - it was all wonderful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thanks, another happy bride! We have lots of brides staying and it is great to see them leaving the cottage looking amazing! It is a privilege to host them at this important time. We also have some engagements here too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel D
Sheffield, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage, Lovely Location”
Reviewed 18 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed at Peartree Cottage in March 2012 during a spell of fantastic weather and had a great week. Helen was very friendly & welcoming. The cottage was very clean and the 'welcome pack' of tea/ coffee etc included a home made ginger cake which was devoured very quickly. She left fish food out for our children to feed the fish in the pond (which they loved) & was always happy to chat and answer our questions. She even got out the barbeque and garden furniture for us to use as the weather was so unexpectedly good.

The area is beautiful. We went to Hexham to the farmers market and bought some great local food which we took back to the cottage & cooked. Corbridge is very pretty with a great bakery. We had a good meal at the Rat Inn which is in nearby Anick.

The cottage itself was one of the nicest we've stayed in, very comfortable with plenty of space - our children were endlessly fascinated with the spiral staircase. The kitchen was very well equipped. We found the TV to be a bit high for comfortable viewing & the beds a bit hard but that is just personal preference.

All in all we loved the cottage and the area and were genuinely disappointed to have to come home. We definitely intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and overall feel of the cottage
Liked least: The sloping ceilings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing