We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Lovely tour and lunch

Taken by my friend as a birthday treat and a treat it was Interesting and informative tour and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
wild-weird-witters
,
bedfordshire
via mobile
Afternoon Tea

Have been a couple of times, one for a hen party afternoon tea one for a 40th birthday and both... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Becky C
,
London, England, United Kingdom
Read all 572 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Northampton
from USD 227.26
More Info
from USD 133.13
More Info
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
427
121
21
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
427
121
21
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charles rennie mackintosh art deco bassett lowke guided tour afternoon tea little gem small house dining room model making fascinating house high tea fascinating place knowledgeable guide tea room cakes worth a visit small museum
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Absolutely stunned by this small but perfectly formed house. The facade gives very little away, but inside!! Dazzling designs, amazing innovations... Bassett-Lowke, the owner, sounds the original nightmare client (taking all the credit for Mackintosh's work etc etc) but he obviously had the money and certainly an eye for design. Interesting exhibition about the work of his model-making business too. We found the tour just the right length, with just enough information from a brilliant guide and happily for us, although (or because?) it was Easter Sunday, there were very few other visitors. £7.90 gets you a ticket which you can use again and again over the next 12 months - bargain! Just wish we lived closer. Make sure and visit the attached cafe too. Excellent food and service.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank silentcharacter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78DerngateNhampton, Manager at 78 Derngate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hello Silentcharacter75 - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your joyful experience of your recent visit to 78 Derngate! We are immensely proud of this fantastic house and are so glad you enjoyed it all so much! Actually, an entry ticket is 10p cheaper than your post, at £7.80 - but, as you say, great value and well worth revisiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Beautifully restored and well presented house. Our guide was knowledgeable and interesting and the house and small museum excellent.
The restaurant was closed as we visited on a bank holiday but the small shop has some lovely and tasteful souvenirs. A gem in Northampton which, to be brutally honest doesn’t have much else to offer.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank katykay217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78DerngateNhampton, Manager at 78 Derngate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Katykay217 - many thanks for taking the time to post your comments following your recent visit to 78 Derngate. It really is a fabulous place and one to cherish and we are very lucky to have such heritage in Northampton - which really isn't that bad a town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We came for a family birthday do in the tearooms. The ladies were very sweet and the vegan high tea was really out of this world.. comparable to high class hotels we've dined in.
The house and gardens are well worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank omspace33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78DerngateNhampton, Manager at 78 Derngate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi High Class Vegan Tea - Thank you for your post regarding your recent visit to the house and The Dining Room. I am so pleased you enjoyed both aspects of the experience - do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

I have long been an admirer of the work of Charles Rennie MacIntosh and had been meaning to visit this museum for some years. I was somewhat startled to find how small the actual house he remodelled was. I was particularly impressed with the visitors bedroom with its canopy effect ceiling. The visit was well worth the journey.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78DerngateNhampton, Manager at 78 Derngate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello Barry W - We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit here and thank you for taking the time to post a comment. Yes, it is only a Georgian terraced house but what Mackintosh and Bassett-Lowke have achieved with interior design is wonderful isn't it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Loved this little gem, in what is otherwise a town that has very little to recommend it.
Can't say I would have wanted to stay too long in some of the more masculine rooms, as a guest, but fascinating all the same.
Woukd really recommend join a guide tour...Lots of additional history about the man who commissioned Mackintosh, and the commercial industry of the day, in the local area.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank jackster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78DerngateNhampton, Manager at 78 Derngate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello jackster1 - Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent visit to 78 Derngate. It really is a fascinating place and we are extraordinarily lucky that Mackintosh's wonderful work is available to see in Northampton; the only home in England in which he played such a big part. Northampton isn't so bad, though! We have plenty to offer including historic buildings and churches - important both architecturally and for their original artworks, intriguing local political history, three cinemas, two major theatres, local breweries, the National Leather Collection, a huge museum and art gallery, independent galleries, parks, canalside walks, a university and loads of great restaurants, bars and some fantastic independent shops - to name but a few points of interest - all in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews