We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Northampton
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel is way out of the way, out of town in the middle of nowhere.
It is purely functional. Clean and tidy with very friendly staff.

Rooms are reasonable sized and decently furnished but reminds me more of a holiday inn express withe a few bells on rather than a proper holiday inn.

Good for business travellers but not if your on holiday

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPS-M, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear Camster66

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about our Hotel. I am delighted you found our staff to be friendly and cheerful. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff so it was nice to hear that you enjoyed.

We are only 2 miles away from town center and our location benefits from giving good links to M1 North and South .

Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Syed Zaidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 498 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

I booked this hotel for a night following a meeting in the area. The location is a five minute car journey to the town centre. Based in a business park and just off two of the main link roads, location wise its perfect. The location is next to the river and country side an additional benefit, the rooms are spacious clean and well equiped.
I stay in an exec suit that cost £35 through book.com.

Room Tip: The three exec rooms on the second floor are the best in the hotel, always ask about room upgrades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPS-M, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear QPRBEDS

Thank you for your review it's fantastic to hear you had a great stay. Me and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Syed Zaidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Seeing previous reviews I was nervous but got offered a very good rate inc breakfast in an exec suite.
Our room was of good standard but not of the latest boutique hotels but we didn't pay that sort of price.
We has everything we needed and the breakfast was very good quality.
I wouldn't pay full price for this hotel but if you can get a deal don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hideaway144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPS-M, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear Hideaway144

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts as it is always satisfying when i read guests would be happy to stay with us again in the future. There is lots of positives which I have shared with the team,once again thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Kind Regards

Syed Zaidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

On most points this hotel is fine and convenient, so here goes...

The Good

Check in: Efficent and quick.
Rooms: Nice and clean etc. decor / furniture a little tired

The Bad

Dinner: The menu is limited, the quality no better than bog standard pub food and two members of staff came over to take my order as English was not their first language.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPS-M, Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Road W

Thank you for your honest feedback. I do appreciate you letting us know about your stay as this can only allow us to improve our service and standards.

I appreciate your kind comments in relation to Check in efficiency and Guest room experience it was a pleasure to read.

With regards to your comments in relation to staff communication this is clearly a training need which we are pleased you have identified and allowed us to have your feedback so that we can improve.

I apologise that you found our menu limited, we have recently introduced a new menu for Restaurant and Bar, this has been very successful,I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Northampton in the future and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel to prove your previous issues were isolated.

Once again Thank you

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a saturday night, room was generlly ok with the facilities you would expect to find. Heating was fine when first entering the room but as t was very cold outside and the temperature was dropping the heating did as well until both heaters were not working. At this point my partner went downstairs to reception to ask someone to come and look at the heater. 15 minutes later and no one had turned up, we wanted to get ready to go out for the evening as well, so i went down to ask when someone would be coming up. the man on reception said he didnt know and decided to hand me a portable electric heater that had recently been on - apart from this being a breech of health and safety, this is unacceptable for a well known hotel to except this. My partner came back down to complain about this level of service and we were given keys to a different room, luckliy the heating/haters worked in this room, but throughout the night it was so noisy we had to switch them off.

generally the place was clean and tidy except the mould in bathroom, see pics. and in the first room the window didnt shut properly which helped towards the coldness of the room. This Holiday inn needs to update its heating system and beaware of customers needs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junkospud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 September 2012

Thank you for posting your review to Tripadvisor and the late response.
I’m sorry that we were unable to provide the heat in the room assigned in the first instance it appears the service you received was not acceptable for which I trust you will accept our sincere apologies.
I’m glad we were able to provide an alternate room which better catered for you in the colder weather. We do have a regular maintenance programme and visit all rooms in turn, I am aware the team at the hotel have visited the room in question to ensure we avoid any future repetition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northampton hotels
2.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
1 km away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#8 of 27 in Northampton
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 27 in Northampton
1,366 reviews
2.7 km away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#18 of 27 in Northampton
720 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#21 of 27 in Northampton
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Northampton

Address: Bedford Road, Northampton NN4 7YF, England (Formerly Courtyard)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range: $71 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near to central Northampton you'll find all you need for a modern comfortable night s stay either for business or leisure purposes at the Northampton Holiday Inn Hotel. An ideal base for all visiting motor enthusiast near to Silverstone, home of the British Grand Prix, Santa Pod and Rockingham . Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel is also Near to Northampton town The Lakes, Brackmills, Riverside, Moulton Park & Grange Park Business Centres, yet only 5 Miles from Junction 15 of the M1 . The Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel provides Quality hotel rooms with the luxury of a choice of king sized bed or two queen size double beds. Business customers will find all the facilities required including WI-FI availability, working desks in all rooms as well as a multi gym to work out in For weekend breaks relax and enjoy bed and breakfast at your leisure before visiting the sights or taking in an event. At the hotel we are also equipped to host meetings for up to 70 people, & banqueting functions for up to 120 with really competitive hotel rates . The Hotel offers WIFI Internet access in the lounge area & business centre available 24hr a day.Local attractions include: Castle Ashby House & Gardens, Wicksteed Park, Billing Aquadrome, Althorp House and Nene Whitewater Rafting Centre, Silverstone & Santa Pod. You'll find all you need in a Hotel - A quality location for a quality stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel Northampton
Northampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing