We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charles Bathurst Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We stayed here one night and the room,food and service were excellent. The inn, is of course, quite isolated and excellent for walkers. Take note that there is no moblile phone access but they do have wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jackietours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for The Charles Bathurst Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Call in to day 13.00 we thought we will have sandwich till we get home , order 2 teas 2 hot beef and onion baguette bar person sorry we've run of baguettes , can we have bread then b/p sorry run out of bread there may be a bit of a wait has someone gone to get some ,Ok we have some chips while the sandwich is ready . A dish of chip arrive 5 min later sandwich arrives with more chips on the plate ,we've had chips already, only The beef in the baguettes in bits mushed up just like you get in a pie there was more red onion then so called beef , we ate what we could waiter come along everything OK , answer no, tell her the problem waiter what can I do goes to tell chef never to return £19 down the swanie

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Whilst out for a walk, in a group of six, came across the CB Inn. Feeling peckish we thought we'd eat there but saw that they stopped serving at 2:30pm. It was now 2:25 so didn't think we'd get served.
We asked and were enthusiastically welcomed in to sit down. Drinks and food ordered without drama. Most of us went for the roast beef which was delicious. The other diner in our group also enjoyed their offering.
All the staff were keen, welcoming and very pleasant.
The dining area was very pleasant, as was the whole pub area.
We only saw the downstairs bar and dining area which were lovely. I can only assume the residential rooms will be as nice and we are considering a stay there in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Just returned from what was an AMAZING Easter break at the CB, couldn't fault a thing. Staff and food are second to none, large selection of local gin that the friendly young man behind the bar told us about & what was best with what gin, lets just say our heads where a little sore Sunday morning but worth it! Seriously looking forward to our next visit to them!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasPsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Just spent a weekend here for my Dad's round-number birthday.
Mum and Dad have been many times before, but for my partner, my sister and myself it was the first time.
We could not have been luckier with the weather - a beautiful warm Spring weekend with glorious sunshine, and the views from the hotel really are magnificent. We'd done some research on their website with rooms and most of us were lucky, although we thought 16 was dark even on a bright day with the lights on, and the view was out over the car park. 18 and 11 were lovely, though.
The disappointment lay in the food which tried hard but only just scraped above average for all of us, and we really aren't picky "lah di dah" eaters.
There were several problems, mainly just that most of the dishes just simply lacked flavour, and over 2 nights (3 for Mum and Dad) we really had a range of dishes.
Also I think they must have had different chefs - the goats cheese mousse I had was nothing at all like the goats cheese mousse Dad had 2 days earlier.
My other half (American) said his was one of the worst burgers he'd ever had.
The highlight was the puds, which were very good.
I think maybe we just went with the wrong expectations - if you're a walker and want food that's above average, you won't be disappointed, but if food is very important to you, you might be a bit let down. I think maybe they just have different chefs here attempting the same menu, so some nights you might be luckier than others. It has a very cosy atmosphere though and if you were out walking on a lovely day, it would be a very cosy place to come back to for a pint and a great night's sleep.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank LondonTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkshire Dales National Park
17.1 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
5.3 km away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
269 reviews
25.2 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
4.8 km away
The Punch Bowl Inn
The Punch Bowl Inn
#1 of 4 in Swaledale
310 reviews
15.8 km away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Bathurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Bathurst Inn

Address: Arkengarthdale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkshire Dales National Park
Price Range: $158 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Bathurst Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18Th Century Inn, located in remote and beautiful Arkengarthdale in the North Yorkshire Dales national Park. Offering 19 en suite individually decorated bedrooms. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV, hairdryers, towels & telephones.We offer outstanding fresh, locally sourced seasonal food, cooked on the premises to the highest standard by our team of chefs. Awarded an AA Rosette in 2013. Antique pine furnish the bar & restaurant, creating a relaxed, warm & friendly environment in which to eat, drink & relax.Now available for civil ceremonies and wedding receptions for up to 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Charles Bathurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cb Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn) Hotel Arkengarthdale
The Charles Bathurst Inn Yorkshire Dales National Park, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing