We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charles Bathurst Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Went for a two night stay in late January. a welcome revisit to the CB in after a 2 year break. As usual the accommodation is comfortable, the food is outstanding, and the welcome is warm. There are some fabulous walks nearby and its in a lovely location.
Look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are numbered 9 and above. Numbers 1 to 8 are in original building.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmorgan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for The Charles Bathurst Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2017

I have stayed at the CB around a dozen times - on my own, and with various family members and friends. The rooms are excellent, the food is always superb and the service is friendly and helpful, including taking in to account any special dietary requirements. The bar, where I always choose to eat, feels like a "local", but the rooms feel like a boutique hotel, and I really enjoy that combination. The location is of course very attractive - one of the more remote areas in the Dales, with good walking direct from the inn. Perfect for a relaxing break and I will remain a regular!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesbT2797TG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We stopped off overnight on our way to Northumberland I can more than recommend eating here. We shared a delicious pickled and smoked fish starter followed by a perfectly cooked piece of cod for me and a confit pheasant dish for my partner. The atmosphere is warm and cosy and the staff pleasant and very helpful. We will most certainly go back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Had to cancel on the day we were due to arrive due to the sudden and unexpected passing of my Father in law that day. Telephoned them, they were very unsympathetic and cold hearted, they then charged me £195 on top of my £75 deposit.
They appeared to have rebooked our room for at least one of the nights.
I telephoned them to question this, again no sympathy and no change of heart.
I then e mailed them two months later about it, I didn't even receive a reply.
I know I agreed to their terms and conditions when I booked but I would have expected some sympathy at least under the circumstances. They only seemed to be concerned about loosing money!! Terry N.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank newmanhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We went for a midweek break to beat the winter blues and had a lovely time, the weather was cold but dry and we were able to walk a few miles then return to the warmth of the CB Inn, our room was nicely furnished and decorated, fluffy towels,warm amd cosy. The food was excellent as in previous visits amd the staff were friendly and helpful, it was great.

Room Tip: We like the rooms fa ing up the dale but they are all nice
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilarySch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkshire Dales National Park
17.1 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
413 reviews
5.3 km away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
269 reviews
25.2 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
4.8 km away
The Punch Bowl Inn
The Punch Bowl Inn
#1 of 4 in Swaledale
310 reviews
15.8 km away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Bathurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Bathurst Inn

Address: Arkengarthdale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkshire Dales National Park
Price Range: $153 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Bathurst Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18Th Century Inn, located in remote and beautiful Arkengarthdale in the North Yorkshire Dales national Park. Offering 19 en suite individually decorated bedrooms. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV, hairdryers, towels & telephones.We offer outstanding fresh, locally sourced seasonal food, cooked on the premises to the highest standard by our team of chefs. Awarded an AA Rosette in 2013. Antique pine furnish the bar & restaurant, creating a relaxed, warm & friendly environment in which to eat, drink & relax.Now available for civil ceremonies and wedding receptions for up to 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Charles Bathurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cb Inn (Charles Bathurst Inn) Hotel Arkengarthdale
The Charles Bathurst Inn Yorkshire Dales National Park, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing