We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment with a great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly refurbished kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Newly refurbished kitchen
Kitchen/dining area
Kitchen feature
Yummy chocolate cake from Cafe Concerto by York Minster
Yorkshire Tea - simply the best!
Yorkshire contemporary art
Feature mirror
Bedroom with king-sized bed, Egyptian cotton bedding and soft white towels
Bedroom with king-sized bed, Egyptian cotton bedding and soft white towels
Bedroom with king-sized bed, Egyptian cotton bedding and soft white towels
Feature mirror
Bright hallway leading through to the master bedroom
Hall table
Bright hallway leading through to the dining/lounge/kitchen
Bathroom with bath and overhead electric shower
York in the snow
York in the snow
Dining table set for a celebration meal
Outside of the apartment
Outside of the apartment
View of the garden from the apartment
Car parking outside of the apartment
York Minster
Betty's famous tearooms
Clifford's Tower
York Minster
Inside of York Minster
The Shambles
York Ghost Tour
Spring flowers and York Minster
Night cruise on the River Ouse
Pub by the River Ouse
Stonegate in York leading up to York Minster
St Mary's Abbey Ruins
The Shambles
York Christmas Marketis
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Merrilyn...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely apartment with a great location. ”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Thank you Melinda & David, we had a wonderful 4 night stay in this clean , well equipped, well presented apartment.
Warm welcoming from Gill with special touches like fresh flowers, fresh cake & kettle boiling!
Fantastic location - walking distance to resturants cafes & attractions
Secure free parking place. Supermarket close by for supplies.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
We are sorry we didn't get to meet you on this occasion but really glad you had a good weekend and found the central location useful. We hope to get to meet you on your next trip!
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda I
1 review
“Comfortable, stylish, welcoming and central!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great stay at Yorkstay! We were made very welcome and were thrilled to find how lovely the apartment and garden were, and all so central. As well as being stylish and well accommodated, the apartment was also lovely and clean with luxurious bed linen and lovely touches such as flowers and home-baked cake. We heartily recommend Yrkstay - not to be beaten!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure to have you with us to celebrate your birthday and glad you enjoyed the flowers and cake! See you again soon.
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougsandu...
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely central apartment with secure parking. Everything has been thought about by the very helpful and welcoming owners - even some home baked cake for your first cup of tea in the apartment! Very well equipped apartment with lovely personal touches.

Would certainly recommend and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Delighted to welcome you both and glad you are such both fans of our wonderful City! Do come and visit us again.
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KS66215
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved this apartment. Stayed for 4 nights in Aug. It is in the perfect location and extremely comfortable to relax in after a long day of sightseeing. As others have said there is a private parking lot adjacent to the building and the grocery store is just on the other side of the car park. Everything is so convenient. The entrance to inside the wall is just a block or two away at Monk's Bar.

Melanie and David met us when we arrived and directed us into the parking area and then showed us around the apartment. Very nice couple that was happy to answer questions and provide any help needed.

Their restaurant suggestions were the best. We are so glad that we took a day and made the drive to Fountains Abbey. It was fabulous! We would definitely stay here again if we had the opportunity to return to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No critcism's
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the close proximity to the town. Its great too you took up the restaurant suggestions and got the chance to explore places outside of the City too! We hope to welcome you again on a future trip to England.
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireP...
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This thoughtfully designed and a superbly appointed apartment proved to be ideal for our one week stay. Having spent a week in York each August for 29 years (no less!) 2016 saw us move from staying in a B & B into self catering for the first time. We do not think we could have chosen better for this 'culture change' as this spotless first floor apartment was perfectly located close to Monk Bar (for the City Walls), and just minutes from the City Centre whilst being remarkably quiet (and yet allowing enjoyment of the Minster chimes), comfortable and relaxing.
It should also be added that the free car parking is convenient, with electronically operated security gates and that the apartment overlooks a very pleasant well tended and good sized enclosed private garden with seats which guests are free to use.
We were also greatly impressed by the most helpful, friendly and yet very unintrusive role played by our hosts Melanie and David.
Our great satisfaction is perhaps best illustrated by saying that we were so pleased with our stay that we already have arrangements in place to return in August 2017!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome you both and we are glad the self-catering experience was so positive! We look forward to seeing you again next year.
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing