We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We didn't want to leave!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Kitchen Area
The cosy contemporary lounge with log burner
Secluded rural location
Nearby Village - Newton -on Ouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa H
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you to Margaret for such a warm welcome - we stayed 3 nights enroute to Hull and really didn't want to leave!
The Barn is a stylish conversion with private courtyard and is well equipped. Two bathrooms made life easier although the partitioned bedrooms meant we could hear the girls chatting in their room quite clearly!
The hot tub was a big hit with the teenagers who now want to buy one for home!
The barn is very in a secluded spot but only a few minutes drive out of York and about an hour from the coast. The train line passes quite close and we saw some interesting planes arriving at the local RAF base but neither created any disturbance.
The Owl Barn is an ideal base to explore Yorkshire and we hope to return again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Hi Lisa

Thanks so much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you as our guests, Would love to welcome you all back sometime. Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette S
1 review
“Fantastic Familymoon ❤️”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked Owl Barn Cottage for a little break after our wedding. We wanted to be close enough to activities to keep my step daughter amused, but far enough away to try and unwind. This is exactly what we got!
The cottage itself is converted to a really high standard and just felt like home. The facilities are fabulous, where to start? The recliner sofas were wonderful to relax on after being dragged round the shops by a 13 year old. The shower nice and powerful. The kitchen equipment meant I was able to cook for us before relaxing with some fizz in the wonderful hot tub!
We loved the light and airy feel to the cottage and Pauls daughter didn't want to come home!
Can't recommend this place enough and we will definitely be back! Thank you xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
So happy that you enjoyed your familymoon ... great name by the way! Hope to welcome you back sometime very soon. Margaret x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandratra...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My Husband and our 6 year old stayed at the Owl Barn for 2 nights as my Husband's birthday gettaway. Off the beaten track the entrance and cottage surroundings are beautiful.
The cottage itself was very pleasing to the eye with lovely original beamed ceilings.It contained everything you could need. We had very accurate directions to a new local fish & chip shop/restaurant for our Friday evening meal from Margaret who welcomed us when we arrived.Would reccommend the Fish shop however we successfully cooked a full english breakfast and an evening meal the next day with all the facilities available in the cottage. Dish washer & washing machine a bonus,(managed to wash our sins school uniform as we left directly after school)Sitting out on the patio in the morning with a morning cuppa with the lovely view was as relaxing as it gets!! Apart from the wonderful addition of the hot tub!! Totally secluded. on the large patio area. It stayed hot the & the jets and waterfall facility was a lovely suprise. There was plenty of room on the patio too so much so we took our sons bike to try to help him ride without stabilisors.The Blacksmiths arms is not far if you fancy a bar meal or drink and is a really pretty place to sit outside. Near the fish shop by the way is a small convenience store and deli, housing tables and chairs for food or coffee and cake, they do amazing LARGE! scotch eggs and flavoured meringues & lovely packaged sweets & buscuits for treats to name just a few things.
The cottage is approx 8 miles from York too, so we really had the best of both worlds! A train line runs at the far left of the cottage,very long electric virgin trains so you don't hear them but it was a shock the first evening to see a streak of light run through the countryside! Our son is train barmy so that was just perfect for him! He woke earlier than he normally would ( he loves his sleep) as the cottage is light & airy. Our room had a remote velux blund so was slightly darker of a morning, but then why waste time with the cottage & its views! All in all an amazing relaxing retreat! Thanks to Margaret & her Hubby for doing a lovely conversion and opening it up for people like us that need a relaxing break every now & again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Hi Sandra

What a lovely review - really gives a flavour of The Cottage and what there is to do close by.

Hope to welcome you back sometime very soon.

Kind Regards
Margaret x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danii S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot tub and a roaring fire, what more could you want!”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I spent a lovely mid-week break at the Owl Barn Cottage. The cottage is in a quite and remote area which was perfect for us. Everything was taken care of and Barry was on hand to assist us if we needed anything. The only criticism I would have is that the kitchen utensils/knives were a bit basic, so this made cooking a little challenging. I would bare in mind, if coming as a larger party that the bedrooms have open plan ceilings, so i imagine it could get pretty loud if there were 4 people staying at once.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Hi Dani

Thanks for the feedback. We will certainly look at getting better knives. We also make a point of explaining about the open plan beams to groups of 4 before they book - but so far everybody has been fine. Whilst probably not ideal for mixed age , family couples - guests love the light and airy feel it gives the cottage and for groups of friends etc. they enjoy the novelty value. Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thanks Carolyn. We enjoyed having you visit again. Margaret x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;