We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Kitchen Area
The cosy contemporary lounge with log burner
Secluded rural location
Nearby Village - Newton -on Ouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jojoricey
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Myself and my Fiancé stayed here for 3 nights recently and from first contact with Margaret to our final goodbye visit to Barry all I can say is what great hosts.

So friendly, welcoming and went the extra mile by adding flowers to the dining table on arrival and texting me on our first evening to make sure we had settled and had everything we needed.

This cottage is an absolute gem and so cosy – modern, nicely laid out and decorated with all that’s required even a dishwasher and we must not forget the hot tub – what a wind down from the day trips to York that was…..so nice to star gaze in the evenings.

My Nephew is starting at York St John next week so I will definitely be back and will recommend to family.

Thanks very much
XX

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaPar...
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic trip... Just what the doctor ordered!”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My Fiancée and I stayed here for 2 nights recently and we thoroughly enjoyed our getaway. The cottage was light and modern with lots of mod-cons (which kept the other half happy!) and everything you could need - down to bags of ice in the freezer and an ice bucket to chill your bubbly. The hot tub was the icing on the cake, large and wonderful to relax in with a glass of something fizzy after a day exploring the Yorkshire countryside. Barry was there to greet us when we arrived and explained how everything worked, there was even fresh milk in the fridge ready for our arrival cuppa which was a lovely touch. The only slight niggles we had were there was dust on the extractor hood and a few cobwebs that has been missed in the living area. Also the up-lighters could do with a quick hoover as they've collected a few moths/bugs (which is understandable given the time of year). Other than those small things our stay was perfect and we'll definitely be staying again, highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Poor wi-fi signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lai Y
1 review
“The cottage was lovely and cozy.”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage was nice and clean. The kids loved the hot tub and the amazing view from the front lawn. Where the kids played football. To top it off the owner was kind and very helpful.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMargBa...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely modern cottage, peaceful location but very convenient for York”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very comfortable cottage with all mod cons and added bonus of luxury hot tub. The only negative for us although this may not be a negative for some people was the roof window in the bedroom which meant the room was flooded with light very early in the morning. If you don't want to wake up at the crack of dawn you may want to take something to cover your eyes.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Hi

Thanks for the feedback re the roof window, we hadn't got around to sourcing a blind for it , as needs to be remotely operated and difficult to find and fit- but will certainly do so now.

Thanks for the feedback.
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andchris2...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I picked the cottage for a few days away, after hubby been working abroad for a month.

The cottage is set in lovely countryside, not too far from two small villages and the park and ride for York.
Arrived just before 4pm on the Saturday and we were warmly greeted by Margaret, the owner, who showed us around the cottage and explained how things worked, even offering us a lift to and from the village pub if we needed one.
The cottage is light and airy, packed with all the comforts of home with the added bonus of a log burning stove and hot tub, which we made the most of!. Also has Sky tv and wifi.
Local chinese and indian takeaway will deliver and the Blacksmiths pub grub and service is fantastic.
Mam and dad came to stay on the bank holiday Monday and really enjoyed themselves., chatting to Barry about the background of the property, the wildlife and his steam traction engine.

The only downside is that we woke up far too early, could possibly do with some curtains in the bedroom, but is that just us?

Otherwise,,,,, ten out of ten to Margaret and Barry and would recommend staying here to friends and family. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and log burner
Liked least: Waking up too early
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Respond to review "Lovely modern cottage, peaceful location but very convenient for York" of The Owl Barn Cottage, Nr York



Are you sure?

Your new guests will read this response. Does it paint the best picture of your property?



Your reponse:


Hi


Thanks for the feedback re the roof window, we hadn't got around to sourcing a blind for it , as needs to be remotely operated and difficult to find and fit- but will certainly do so now.


Thanks for the feedback.

Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing