We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Kitchen Area
The cosy contemporary lounge with log burner
Secluded rural location
Nearby Village - Newton -on Ouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andchris2...
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I picked the cottage for a few days away, after hubby been working abroad for a month.

The cottage is set in lovely countryside, not too far from two small villages and the park and ride for York.
Arrived just before 4pm on the Saturday and we were warmly greeted by Margaret, the owner, who showed us around the cottage and explained how things worked, even offering us a lift to and from the village pub if we needed one.
The cottage is light and airy, packed with all the comforts of home with the added bonus of a log burning stove and hot tub, which we made the most of!. Also has Sky tv and wifi.
Local chinese and indian takeaway will deliver and the Blacksmiths pub grub and service is fantastic.
Mam and dad came to stay on the bank holiday Monday and really enjoyed themselves., chatting to Barry about the background of the property, the wildlife and his steam traction engine.

The only downside is that we woke up far too early, could possibly do with some curtains in the bedroom, but is that just us?

Otherwise,,,,, ten out of ten to Margaret and Barry and would recommend staying here to friends and family. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and log burner
Liked least: Waking up too early
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Respond to review "Lovely modern cottage, peaceful location but very convenient for York" of The Owl Barn Cottage, Nr York



Are you sure?

Your new guests will read this response. Does it paint the best picture of your property?



Your reponse:


Hi


Thanks for the feedback re the roof window, we hadn't got around to sourcing a blind for it , as needs to be remotely operated and difficult to find and fit- but will certainly do so now.


Thanks for the feedback.

Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraJPax
1 review
“Home from home away from all the hustle and bustle.”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Relaxing stay in the gorgeous cottage with plenty of attractions around should you want a day out. Third visit there and will return. Love the hot tub!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john E
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Rejuvinating”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our third time at Owl Barn Cottage. It really is a relaxing cottage, complete with a wonderful hot tub. The cottage has all the facilities that you need, two bedrooms, bathroom and shower room, and an open plan dining and cooking room.
The cottage is within 10 minutes drive of the Park and Ride at York, to save having to pay city car park fees and plenty of restaurants within easy reach of the cottage if you don't want to eat in.
The hosts are wonderful, and booking and arrival/departure arrangements are hassle free.
Looking forward to going back soon.
It is rare that we visit more than one place more than twice, to have visited here three times and are looking forward to returning, is a testament to the quality of the accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful ambience
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester...
leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Returning for a third visit!”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in April 2014

As a romantic getaway this cottage was just perfect! My husband and I booked a mid week break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time. The cottage and outdoor hot tub maintains privacy throughout but with the added bonus of the owners being on site if required. There is a park and ride nearby which you can use to explore the gorgeous city of York. We were so impressed that we re booked a surprise long weekend with our two sons and they absolutely loved it. We have recently booked a third visit as a family again and the boys can't wait to use the hot tub and jacuzzi bath. I can't recommend this cottage enough and look forward to our next visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadCow2
Salford, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderfully luxurious and thoroughly relaxing break”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Owl Barn Cottage was a real find for a last minute getaway. Margaret was beyond helpful from start to finish - a real model of customer service excellence.
The cottage was incredibly well equipped, cosy and had everything we needed for a perfect stay - especially the amazing hot tub!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful hot tub in the chilly spring night air
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing