We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless weekend break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
claire w
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Faultless weekend break ”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Recommend through Facebook I booked a few months in advance for my 30th birthday 2 adults and 2 children. Reasonable price and Response was quick and all questions answered. A week before I arrived I was sent details needed for the break. Easy place to find check in from 12noon...whilst on route carol rang to let me know about a site electric issue but was hoping it would be resolved asap. We arrived to a peaceful and welcoming little site, cabin found easily and in a nice location of the site. 1st impressions were good. Looked just as expected from photos. Inside was amazing. Spacious, clean, tidy, well equipped and nicely decorated. Welcomed by a few little treats which were much appreciated. As the electric was off we played a few games (available in the lodge) then went into the hot tub. At 9pm as advised the electric came on. Beds were comfy, showers decent not the trickle I've had in some and the main one quite a size. We never left the cabin but made full use of the facilities included. Hot tub was fab. Never been in one before so was nice to see full instructions and it was easy to use. We used the bbq what was there and sat out on the decking. The neighbour opposite was friendly too. The cabin has everything you need. Iron, washer, dryer, all kitchen utensils and cooking equipment. Basically nothing is missing and you can do anything here from a basic meal to a full works one. The departure time was 12 noon on Sunday which gave us plenty time to enjoy the morning, pack up and clean up after ourselves. Overall we've had a brilliant weekend and would definitely recommend it to those looking for a stress free break, fun break, relaxed break...it's suitable for all occasions. I look forward to another visit. Thank you carol and family for having us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank you Claire for an excellent review. It is very much appreciated. I was in a panic to find the electricity was off for you but thankfully it didn't spoil things and came on when they said it would.
We hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leannelit...
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Hi carol , it was unfortunate you were away when we came to stop at your beautiful lodge . We all had an amazing time . It was immaculate and a great quaint lodge . We enjoyed the hot tub . We will definately be back as we enjoyed York very much . Everything we could have wanted or needed was provided in the hamper you left for us and the prosecco was a very nice touch . Thanks again Mr and Mrs little

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thank you Leanne for taking time out to do this. It really helps other people see that we are trying hard to keep our home comfortable and clean at all times . And we love reading that you have enjoyed your stay.
Look us up on fb. Thx.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautiful place , very clean and tidy, really well maintained, the lodge is a lot bigger than I thought. Very quiet and peaceful too , just what we was wanting

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for sharing your views. We want all of our guests to enjoy our home and we are pleased you had a relaxing break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxPower...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Owl's Nest goodness!”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Me and the good lady booked 3 nights here along with our 2 children over half term.

In summary, we can't fault it. From the very beginning of our experience booking it with the owners through to our departure it was a pleasure.

The park on which the lodge is located on is very well organised and presented. The cleanliness of the lodge is excellent, I've never been to any hotel or lodge which has been as clean.

The facilities offered are excellent, there is a fully equipped kitchen and Sky tv, along with a DVD player and iPod dock (first gen).

The main event is the hot tub. Now this is first class, it can comfortably fit 4 adults in has lots of features you'd expect from a decent hot tub. It's totally secluded and undercover so can be used in all weathers.

The owners are extremely attentive, in our 3 night stay they dropped in 3 times so there's plenty of opportunity to talk to them should you need to.

If you fancy a few days (or longer) away from it all in the York and surrounding area and fancy that extra bit of luxury you get with a hot tub then please don't hesitate - book it now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you for such an amazing review and for spending the time to do this. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our home.....and hot tub.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha T
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and my partner have just returned from a very relaxing stay here. The cabin is homely and has everything you could possibly need, with more kitchen utensils than I have in my own home I must add! The cabin was immaculate on our arrival and we were welcomed by milk and some more goodies which was a lovely surprise! Carol (one the owners) had popped round a few times during the stay to check everything was okay but sadly we had missed her both times, its a shame we never got to meet Carol but we had exchanged texts throughout our stay and she is lovely. We did although meet Carol's husband Mervyn (if I have the wrong name im very sorry!) on arrival after ringing to ask for help opening the front door (we are clearly useless in the dark lol) and he had driven round, within minutes to come help us! Its so nice knowing how friendly and helpful the owners are. We were provided with towels, dressing gowns and slippers as well as some miniature toiletries which would have been ideal if we had forgotten ours. The hot tub was AMAZING, so easy to use and it even had speakers in which you can connect your phone to.

With myself and my boyfriend not being able to drive it was handy that there is a bus stop right outside the entrance which takes you into York. They run frequently and it was reasonably priced, you can also get return tickets if you are just going for a shop etc. We stayed in York all day (drinking) and returned in a taxi which only cost us around £25, which we did not think was bad.. on metre.

Although there was only two of us I can imagine with a family of six there is more than enough room for everyone, especially in the hot tub! For the summer months we also noticed a BBQ and lots of outdoor seating. We will DEFINITELY be returning very soon because we had the best time! Thank you so much for our peaceful stay at the Owl's Nest, I will definitely be recommending to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and these comments will be so helpful to anyone else considering coming to our home without transport. Thank you for taking the time to do this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing