We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
smf2010
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing house”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent house in a superb location next to the magnificent Minster. The owner/caretaker could not have been more helpful and we all enjoyed the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayesha C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for large groups”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

I stayed here with my bridesmaids the day before my wedding and it was perfect.

The size of the house comfortably provided for 9 of us. The living room had plenty of room to seat us all as well as the kitchen.

All the bedrooms were a perfect size with lots of room for luggage to be stored. There was plenty of cutlery, plates, bowls etc and suprisngly lots of additional extras which we were grateful for (tea, coffee, peanut butter...)

Richard was amazing at keeping in constant communication with us, and even offered us the opportunity to check in a day early for free! He kindly visited us to check everything was ok and helped to fix the broken fire (which was very temperamental but needed as it was freezing) and the blocked shower plug hole. He also arrived with a bottle of fizz for us all the celebrate. After the stay he kindly chased up missing possessions and kept them in storage until we could retrieve them.

In terms of location its just out of all the hustle and bustle but a good 10 minute walk in any direction, to the town center.

After living and studying in york I would say this is a good location for a large party. Be ready for a slightly stressful search for parking spaces though if you bring more than one car (there is free parking about 2 mind away but fills up very quickly).

Would most certainly stay in this beautiful house again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Hi,
Thanks for your lovely review - very much appreciated. I'm glad that you had a great time in the house and you had a beautiful wedding, despite the wintery weather. We'd certainly welcome you back at any time. As the house is in such close proximity to the city centre, there is a limit to parking one car outside the property, but there is unlimited parking just 2 minutes walk away from the house. You're right that the places closest to the city are in the greatest demand, but there is never an issue getting a place, it just means you need to park it a little further up the road.
Kind Regards, Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in a handy location”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Highly recommend this house for a large group visiting York. The house was ideally placed just outside the city and a 10 minute walk from the York Minster.

Everything was nicely set out, clean and comfortable. The owner was quick to respond to any queries and very helpful.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine P
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and accomodation”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We visited York as 2 families - all adults. The house was ideal for our needs. It is only a short walk into the city and the accomodation itself was ideal for our party of 8. we ended up with 3 cars but were able to park one outside the house and had no problem at all parking the other 2 a short distance down the road. We would certainly return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grey236
Nuneaton
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideal family or friends accommodation.”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The house is within easy walking distance of the city centre for anyone who is fit and healthy. My husband who is partially sighted and diabetic would have found it too far so he and I drove out to the retail park with M and S and John Lewis and then did the park and ride on a couple of occasions. I did find parking a bit stressful as my granddaughter had the permit because her car was brand new. I found a space each time but the last time it was at least half a mile away.
The house is warm and clean very well equipped. The younger grandchildren would have liked a DVD player but it wasn't an issue. Plenty of room with large kitchen and dining room. Two good bathrooms and an extra loo downstairs so no queues!
Good tourist info and plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
Thank you Richard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen facilities
Liked least: Parking for extra car
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing