We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Squirrel Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
john w
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Squirrels Nest end of May begining of June. What a lovely place. The property was nicely furnished and decorated, it was nice and light. The views were lovely and it was so peaceful. The owners made every effort to make you feel at home, from a nice victoria sponge to fresh eggs from their own chickens. It is really convenient for York with a park and ride only 5 minutes down the road. It takes 15 minutes to get to York. I would recommend this lovely property to anyone. Thank you Jill and Steve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the property
Liked least: nothing to like least
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane A
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Tranquil, peaceful surroundings and a very comfortable home from home. Found at the end of an unmade road, the property revealed itself in a beautiful garden with the sound of busy chickens. The host was there to meet me and showed me round the apartment. Evrything was spotlessly clean and the attention to detail was perfect. I spent a wonderful week just chilling out and relaxing, the very reason I went.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the countryside and the wildlife that visited.
Liked least: The access driveway!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you for the lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed at Squirrels nest for three days, and it obviously wasn't enough. Jill and Steve were very welcoming and sweet on arrival and departure, we didn't quite imagine how beautiful the inside would be- the pictures didn't do it justice. My first experience in England couldn't have been any better, and thanks to our lovely accommodation it made it that much better! Jill had made a lovely cake, that was delicious and supplied us with some milk, honey, eggs etc. We couldn't have asked for a better holiday. My boyfriend and I can't wait for our next stay but this time we will make sure to stay longer! :) Thanks Jill & Steve once again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Living Area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonimous...
Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect Choice”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Squirrel Nest is the perfect choice to explore York. The apartment is EXCELLENT, very light, fully equipped and beautifully furnished, located in a quiet area on the outskirts of the city. Very convenient and well connected. Everything you can think of has been taken care of and Steve and and Jill are wonderful hosts.
I strongly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: I loved it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect...”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed in this apartment for just under a week & we weren't disappointed. Arrived to a warm welcome from owner Gill who showed us around. She had even baked us a cake & provided us with essentials for our stay - bread, milk, butter, jam, marmalade & even fresh chicken eggs! The nest was amazing, packed with everything you'll ever need for a lovely relaxing break. It was very picturesque & very quiet & even had its own balcony for sittin in the sun. Access to York was very good, 2 minutes away from Poppleton Bar Park & Ride. Also reasonably close to Designer Outlet & Monks Cross if you fancy a day out. All in all, you would have to go a long way to find nicer, more peaceful accommodation. We'll definitely be back. Thank you Gill & Steve!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing