We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 8 Merchants Place

A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
The lounge has a great view of the Merchants Adventurers' Hall
The balcony is very safe - our 2 year old loves it…throws bread to the swans!
The view of Cliffords tower, looking left from the balcony
Secured paved entrance
View from the balcony
View from the balcony
The master bedroom also has river views
Both bedrooms have large amount of storage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
2 reviews
“Lovely apartment, great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed here in April with my sister and her two young children. The apartment is ideally located and not at all noisy despite being so central. It looks out over the river and the kids loved to sit at the huge windows and watch the ducks. The apartment is clean and tidy and has everything you need, we were provided with bread and milk at the start of our stay, and there is a Tesco 30 seconds from the front door for any extras you need. The walk into town up Fossgate is short and pleasant, plus you pass the top rated coffee shop in York (Spring Espresso) on the way, which does a great flat white. It was lovely to come back to the apartment at the end of a busy day and relax and watch a dvd before retiring to the very comfy beds.
All in all we had a great time here and felt really at home, we would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thanks so much for the kind words! Come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnnyboy...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“great location and accommodation exactly as described”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

arrived and met Polly the housekeeper who was very friendly and went out of her way to help.
Chris and Miranda were both very helpful and keen to assist us along the way with any questions we may have had as well as keeping in touch to see if all was well.
we would all definitely return and plan to do so at a later date,
the apartment is very central and ideal for shops,bars,restaurants etc
the apartment is beautiful and has a view over the river idyllic to say the least.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality and location
Liked least: nothing to add
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosamunda...
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High quality accomodation in an excellent location”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed in this very nice apartment for a week over Christmas and despite the floods we enjoyed it very much. The accomodation is modern and of a very high quality. It is well equipped and spacious. The best feature is the location - just a few minutes walk to all the attractions of York; restaurants, shops and car parking also very close by. The view from the lounge and bedrooms is lovely and we would love to return in the summer to take advantage of the balcony and riverside location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Thanks Ros! Really pleased you had a great time even though York was flooded.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Can't rate this highly enough, from the great service when booking right through to the wonderful accommodation itself. It's a great location and a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila G
2 reviews
“Our stay in York”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay in York was great we had our two grand daughters with us 16 and 14 we stayed at a super apartment run by Miranda and Chris both very helpful. The apartment was first class and extremely well looked after it had every thing you would require on holiday. The apartment was situated right in the City.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing