We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a couple visiting York with a car”

Review of Foss Flat

Kitchen/dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/dining area
Bedroom Living room and balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Kitchen/dining area
Bedroom
Living room and balcony
Bathroom
Hall and bedroom
Bath with shower over
Living room
Balcony and cycle path
Balcony, overlooking Cycle Route 66
Living room
Living room
Living room and balcony
Bathroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul W
1 review
“Perfect for a couple visiting York with a car”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Summary:
Comfortable, all the basics for self catering, off road private parking, a short (10 mins) level walk to the city and local shops close by.

More Detail:
Pretty easy to find on the east side of the city, although sat navs might take you up a blind alley, so read the owner's instructions properly. There's allocated parking in the small private courtyard in front of the flat which is set back off the road, which feels secure, with a CCTV camera overlooking it. We were greeted on arrival by the housekeeper (Simon), who had contacted me beforehand to confirm our arrival time. He was very welcoming and showed us around answering any questions we had. There's a local Spar a couple of minutes walk away, a big Sainsburys a few minutes further in the other direction (just a couple of minutes drive) and the city centre is only 10 minutes or so walk.

It's not a huge place but is perfectly adequate for two. The bedroom has enough space for a week's worth of clothes to hang and go away into draws unless, I guess, you're planning multiple activities which might require multiple changes of clothing (e.g. rambling, golf, sight seeing, eating out). We both found the bed comfy and as one who has back problems I often fear sleeping in strange beds. No problems here though.

The bathroom is a decent size too. The bath has a separate shower attachment, which pumps put the water at really good rate, not the dribble you can get with some of these electric pumps. My one gripe really was that the towels provided were a bit small and rough and with the heating not on (not needed the week we were there), wouldn't dry unless put outside on the balcony. We did put them through the washer/dryer that's in the flat and that softened them up.

The main living area has a comfy sofa, a decent tv with freeview and a separate armchair. It opens up to a balcony overlooking a cycle path. The flat's on the first floor so all very secure. It's comfortable and cosy.

The kitchen has an electric cooker with gas hob, microwave, toaster,washer/dryer, plenty of bits and pieces to cook with, plenty of crockery and cutlery and a breakfast bar with two stools. For the chefs out there, the frying pans were a bit basic and the knives were a bit blunt (but a good selection) and there was only one chopping board. However, over time, a good selection of cooking oils and salts had accumulated and the owner ensures there are basics such as milk in the fridge and bread upon arrival. There's no dishwasher, by the way, so someone's going to have to do the hard work afterwards if you're going to do any heavy cooking.

The location was perfect for us, being just a short walk into the city. Some might think it's just a bit too far to walk but it's nothing really. I imagine a lot of the properties in the area would be rented to students. We certainly felt very safe all the time we were there and a lot of people seemed to be out jogging in that area. If you're getting in the car to explore East and Northwards, it's also going to be ideal. I noticed there are a couple of golf courses very close by, although we didn't take up that option this time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect short stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stopped at Foss Flat for a couple of nights to be close to my sister and parents. We were all in York for a few days break. The flat could not have been better and I was met by the housekeeper, who had already brought essential supplies ( bread, milk etc). It was only a short walk to the city centre and the flat itself was well furnished, spotlessly clean, and quiet.
I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in York and needing a comfortable Base from which to explore the city and surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rontaylor...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Flat ideally located for visiting York,great flat and well equipped”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

15 mins walk from city centre. parking space and all the essentials needed for a comfortable relaxing stay. Quiet location off the road in shared block. corner shop and Chinese/chip shop very close to flat. loved the milk, bread and butter left for use and didn't need to rush out to buy supplies on first day. Would recommend this flat and would definitely use again when visiting York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen W
Dereham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely flat, excellent location.”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We think Foss flat is more than excellent value for money. It is a well presented flat that gives you just that little bit more! Having York such a short walk away meant that we could forget the car and enjoy the city by foot. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shazzer19...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful cosy apartment centrally located”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My husband and I spent 3 days in York in this beautifully clean, warm and cosy apartment. It's located only a short walk from the walled city with so much to see and do. The apartment has everything you need so if the weather is very poor, you could happily snuggle up on the sofa and watch TV or a DVD with a home cooked meal. We were warmly welcomed by Chris, who showed us around and made sure we had everything we needed. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location
Liked least: A little road noise, but not too intrusive.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing