We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
475
24
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews host darren baked treats museum gardens city centre quiet location quiet cul de sac short walk charming b b train station lovely guesthouse home away from home a wonderful place to stay we loved our stay bed and breakfast free parking each morning cooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We spent two lovely nights at the Alcuin Lodge. Darren was our host, who was very friendly, hospitable and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was served at a convenient time and was fresh, tasty and plentiful and if you wanted more it was no trouble!. We stayed in the twin room. It was spotlessly clean, lovely and bright with fresh towels and comfortable beds, and a very warm plush carpet, the room was spacious enough and felt really cosy. Home made cakes were made every day upon your return from your travels. A special little touch - what a gem!. The city centre was just a few minutes walk from the Lodge, but away from the bustle of the city. We cannot fault anything about our visit. Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer! Thank you Darren for your hospitality!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 135frederick1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the very kind feedback on your stay with us over the Easter weekend. I'm so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be. It's great to know that Alcuin Lodge was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city. It was great to meet you both and we hope you'll be back to see us again...I hope you can have a longer getaway next time too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

All I can say is stay with Darren - a really genuine good guy and a awesome place to stay. We will be back and have already recommeded it to friends and family! The location is fantastic for walks into the walled city and only a 10 minute walk from the train.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank adamlM4015KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks Adam. It was great to meet you both and I'm so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Alcuin Lodge and that our location provided you with such a convenient base for your visit to York. Thanks for taking the time to let us know and we look forward to seeing you (and your friends and family) again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 nights and 4 days at this B&B. Such a lovely comfortable home from home feel and a very warm friendly host in Darren. Nothing was too much trouble, we came back to home made cake each day and he gave us a map highlighting places of interest, mapping out routes and recommendations for eating places he uses and enjoys himself, which were equably well worth visiting. We didn't need to use the car unless we wanted to go further afield as the B&B is situated 10 mins walk away from the city centre. The breakfasts were lovely, substantial and plenty of choice. We will definitely be returning

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Angie, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Alcuin Lodge. It's lovely to read that you felt so well looked after. As I hope you could tell, we love having people to stay and enjoy seeing our guests have such a great time in our amazing city. Lovely to hear that you'll be coming back - do give us a call or enquire by email (we don't advertise all of our availability online).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Having stayed just around the corner for many years on our annual visit to York, we were recommended Alcuin Lodge by our previous accommodation as they had retired. We were not disappointed. The location is superb, off the beaten track and main roads just a 10 minute walk to York Minster and the centre. Only 5 (double / twin) rooms so you get personal service from the moment you enter. Rooms are spacious and kept spotless. Good en-suite with good quality towels. Beds comfortable, adequate storage space. Breakfast outstanding and an added bonus of home-made cakes provided mid afternoon. On-road parking. Booked again for next year, so that says it all.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayosgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We're so pleased that you have found a new "home from home" for your annual visit. It's great to hear that Alcuin Lodge has everything you want for your stay in York and you're right, the best compliment you can pay is that you're coming back in 2018. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Stayed at Alcuin Lodge for two nights 17th November for my wife's birthday and the Xmas Markets, had a great stay with Darren our host. A really well presented modern guest house with a very warm welcome. All exceptionally clean and tidy and the breakfast's were also lush. Can not fault anything, nothing was too much trouble, even advice on places to visit and restaurants to eat. Already booked for next year.

Thank you,Darren

Room tip: Book direct
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

It was lovely to meet you and we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to York even more as a result of staying with us at Alcuin Lodge. Thank you for your very kind comments and we look forward to seeing you next year. Have a great Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews