We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for us!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Cottage

Brook Cottage south facing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook Cottage south facing
Twin/queen size bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Brook Cottage south facing
Twin/queen size bedroom
Sitting room
Garden
Kitchen
Kitchen
Garden
Beautiful sunsets
Brook Cottage in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny R
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place for us!”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in a few cottages over the years and this is by far the best! Tried to get in again this year but they were full, word has travelled fast.

Firstly I had to contact the owner Lindsey to organise for them to accept an oxygen machine for my Mum and to ask where I could get some nice flowers as it was Mum's 89th birthday the day of our arrival. Lindsey was really helpful and the prospect of oxygen arriving was no problem.

We were to arrive in 2 cars - no problem, there was a vast amount of space to park. When we arrived we opened the key safe at the door as instructed and got into the cottage easily. What a lovely surprise to find a bottle of fiz and a note from Lindsey and Marcus wishing my Mum a lovely birthday!

Most cottages offer a welcome pack but this one showed that they had really thought about what they did. There was the usual milk, bread and tea but also biscuits and eggs and ICE IN THE FREEZER! I have also never been to a cottage where absolutely everything was provided in the kitchen including waste bags, food bags, foil, cling film etc although of course we had taken our own as most places don't provide those!

Marcus came home later and popped in to show us the heating etc and asked if there was anything more we needed: there wasn't. We also met Poppy the lovely Labrador who my Mum took to immediately, strange as she has never been very fond of dogs, in fact a bit frightened, but she loved Poppy!

The cottage was superb! We had one double bedroom with en suite (Mum's of course) and one twin with a bathroom. All the linen was excellent quality and there were plenty of towels and tea towels, extra pillows and throws. The whole place was furnished beautifully, Lindsey and Marcus have great taste!

We were very comfortable all week and nothing was too much trouble for Lindsey and Marcus. We had our own little garden to the side (door out of Mum's bedroom) with a barbecue and it looked over open fields. The "hamlet" is very quiet as there are only about 8 houses and there is no through road so it was very peaceful. We even met one of the neighbours when he heard us singing one evening in the garden and popped his head around the fence!

The small things that Lindsey and Marcus did to make our stay comfortable were very much appreciated. Even on our last evening Marcus asked if we would be having a barbecue and when we told him no he said he would clean it ready for the next people. I was astonished as I expected to clean it myself but he insisted!

The day we left Marcus told us we did not need to rush so we did not feel like we were being booted out!

All in all a brilliant cottage and lovely warm welcome from the owners!

We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the people
Liked least: Quite a way from shops but that is also a bonus
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walshawtr...
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Well equiped, lovely outlook, a good centre for touring North Yorkshire and spotlessly clean.”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lindsay and Marcus have created a lovely place to spend a holiday. Thought has gone into all the amenities so you want for nothing. They are there when needed to answer any questions about the area and the cottage. The wood burning stove was really good making our evenings cosy and warm, Marcus even gave me a fire lighting lesson. The cottage has easy access to country walks and cycling routes. Altogether perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TickleBug
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage in a rural, bucolic setting”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stopped in Brook Cottage for nearly two weeks and had a great time. The cottage itself is a modern renovation done to a high standard. The kitchen has all the accessories you could need and there was even a packet of chocolate biscuits, milk, tea and coffee there upon arrival. Marcus and Lindsay live just next door so are on hand should you need anything. They are very friendly and helpful and their dog Poppy is adorable. The location is quite remote, it being a 3.9 mile walk to the nearest pub, but the payoff is that there is so little light pollution that the night sky is utterly stunning. Most nights we went out into the little private garden at the side of the cottage and spent half an hour enjoying the peace and quiet. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Many thanks for your kind review - so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne g
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“An lovely little haven and wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a wonderful time at Brook Cottage. Everything we needed was provided. It's a lovely place with lovely hosts. Lindsay and Marcus are great. Just the right balance between being there when needed and leaving you to enjoy your holiday. The walks from the door are great. Get your boots on and enjoy.

Our 11 year old had a great time and loved Poppy..........

Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a peaceful little haven away from it all.

Thank you Lindsay and Marcus.......hope you finish your extension soon and can have a rest !

Lynne, Richard and Matthew. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, general standard of property and the lovely people
Liked least: wasn't anything to dislike........
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was perfect, just right to celebrate a special birthday, unforgettable”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The interior design has obviously been given a lot of thought and the attention to detail first class. As it was a special birthday the owner kindly agreed to put some flowers in the cottage as a wonderful surprise which was very much appreciated.
The beds are very comfortable and it suited us well with many different places to visit within 30-40 minutes drive and the local pub has excellent food.
Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Prompt response to my emails and the attention to detail.
Liked least: Nothing, to fault at all
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2015
Many thanks for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing