We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding!”
other travellers have booked this property
Master bedroom - elegant and bright with far reaching views of York's skyline. Generous storage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom - elegant and bright with far reaching views of York's skyline. Generous storage
Beautiful art & furnishings. Enjoy the panoramic view! Very peaceful for a city centre location. Oaked framed king-sized bed with goosedown duvet.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Master bedroom - elegant and bright with far reaching views of York's skyline. Generous storage
Beautiful art & furnishings. Enjoy the panoramic view! Very peaceful for a city centre location.
Oaked framed king-sized bed with goosedown duvet.
Colourful and comfortable luxury.
Two spotless &  spacious bathrooms, heated floors, fluffy towels, handmade soaps, powerful showers
Full bath with power show over. Heated towel rail.
Chic furnishings in our luxury living area with beautiful rugs and wide, wide windows. FreeView TV
Quality sofas and armchairs - original artworks in every room.
Dining table - cosy for two or extendable for four. Pretty antique chairs
Dining table folds out to seat four.
Mezzanine is accessible from the living area.
Panoramaic views across York.
Fully equipped kitchenette with top quality crockery, glassware and utensils.
Washer/dryer, fridge freezer, microwave, dishwasher, coffee machine
Quaint higgledy piggledy rooftops of York as seen from the living room.
Spacious second bedroom - king sized beds; quality linens, goose down duvets.
Plenty of storage in our solid oak wardrobe and antique chest of drawers.
Two spotless  and spacious bathrooms, heated floors, fluffy towels, handmade soaps, powerful showers
We like to spoil our guests with fresh flowers, welcome treats and fine attention to detail. Enjoy!
Hallway - enjoy our beautiful original artworks. Coat rack and uitility cupboard. Entryphone.
Mezzanine - plenty of room to work, or watch a film, relax...look at the sky... big comfy sofa.
Comfy sofa on the mezzanine - two clicks and it becomes an extra bed for occasional use.
Airy, vaulted and bright - this loft 'den' is a fabulous extra space.
The floorplan shows you just how spacious it is - no poky bedrooms here!
The views from our top floor vantage point are wonderful. Here's a sunset.....
Our smart apartment building is located in one of York's famous 'snickleways' - Peter Lane
Set back and high up, it's really quiet but right in the city's heart.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MalvernGu...
Philadelphia Suburbs
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stopped here for a few nights on our way between Edinburgh and London. We loved the location in the old town pedestrian area where we would not need a car and could walk everywhere. It was extremely easy to find from the train station with their directions. The apartment was as pictured, light, airy, beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds and furniture. Lots of little amenities are left by the owner so you don't have to waste time shopping for them such as dish soap, sponges, hand soaps, body washes, coffee, milk and much more. She also provided some delicious Betty's cakes, a bottle of bubbly, and croissants. Having a lift in the building made moving suitcases up to the apt a breeze. Book soon as this one won't last long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The a,entities and how well the property was maintained and kept.
Liked least: Could not find one.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEF68
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a two night stay here as a group of friends and I can't fault the experience-perfect location, helpful communication and fizz, cakes and coffee supplied.
The apartment was clean and well stocked and there were useful instructions for everything. We arrived and left at times suited to our trains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the additional touches
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
0Barbara
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location, very comfortable”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is very comfortable and has great views. It is located in the middle of York and everything is accessible. The mezzanine allows you to work comfortably if you need to, with access to wifi. We really enjoyed ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bed and bedding were great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F
Moncton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful city hideaway has it ALL!”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent Christmas week 2014 in York and were delighted with our stay at Popes Head Court. This bright and spacious apartment was beautifully decorated and immaculate, with fresh floral bouquets throughout! Everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing vacation was provided. The kitchen was well stocked with a selection of tea, biscuits, spices, and so much more…and when we realised we’d forgotten to purchase gravy for our Christmas lunch we even found a tube of Colman’s Instant Chicken Gravy in the cupboard. The lunch was rescued!

Liz was a lovely hostess who provided excellent information—from how to find the apartment to how to operate everything in it (which was appreciated since, as non-Brits, we were unfamiliar with some of the ‘technology’ used in the U.K.). Liz made us feel so welcome by tastefully decorating the apartment for Christmas and leaving a luxurious fruit cake from Betty’s Tea Room and fresh croissants on the counter, milk in the refrigerator, and even a Christmas card and festive scented candles for us.

The apartment’s central location was amazing and the view over the city rooftops through the apartment’s huge windows was lovely. We were just steps from the outdoor Christmas market and The Shambles, and a few minutes’ walk from York Minster (where we attended the midnight Christmas Eve service). If you like to cook for yourself there are several grocery stores to choose from just a short walk from the apartment. If you prefer to eat out, you would have to stay for months to try all of the restaurants, cafés, and pubs in the area!

I could not think of anything that would improve this well-priced, beautifully appointed apartment and I would highly recommend it to other travellers. I hope we have the opportunity to return to York again and to Popes Head Court!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment was beautifully presented and had everything required for a relaxing stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing