We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad and handle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
deniseban...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from an amazing stay at Gillygate, a central York apartment whereby you literally walk out of the door and you're in the middle of the town. I hasten to add there is no noise inside the apartment, which is decorated and furnished to an extremely high standard. Everything is spotlessly clean from the beds down to each and every item of homeware in the kitchen. This is not your run of the mill rental everything is of a very high standard. Lynne and Mick the owners are so helpful and gave us good advice where to visit. I would strongly recommend this apartment to anyone!!!!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
Thank for you a fabulous review! It was a total pleasure to be able to welcome you to Gillygate Central and hear how much you enjoyed the apartment and York. We really hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelliecar...
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My little family and I have just returned from a wonderful stay. Amazing location for the sights and sounds of York! The apartment is to a very high standard and the super king size bed is a warm welcome at the end of a busy day!
Lynne was a fantastic host, even leaving some fizz!! She answered my many questions ( we have an 18 month old so I had a few!), welcomed us when we arrived, and pointed us in the direction of lovely places to see and u felt was always there if we needed her. I intend to go back and wouldn't stay anywhere else! First class! Thanks again xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Thanks for a fantastic review! It was lovely to help make your stay enjoyable and so nice that you loved the apartment . Your little boy was a delight. We'd love to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely break”
Reviewed 3 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

3 nights stay in a very cozy apartment, all the facilities you could need in a central location close to all you could wish to see. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
Thank you for your review. Glad everything was to your liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen m
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

It was such a treat to stay here for our three nights in York. A beautifully thought out and very comfortable apartment with lovely personal touches and a great host in Lynne. Location was unbeatable, we would love to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. As it was your first visit to York we were particularly delighted you had a great stay. We would love you to visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallulah4...
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We booked the apartment for an early birthday stay and enjoyed our stay once again. Perfect central location and everything we needed and more. Thanks for the Prosecco and other extras. Lovely comfortable bed, lovely cosy warm apartment. Will be back again next year for sure thanks Lynne xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
It's terrific when we have 'returners' as we know for certain you love the apartment! Great to see you both again and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Many thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing