We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Key pad closed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad closed
Opening keypad
Keys revealed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mick W
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a wonderful place tucked away almost out of sight when walking past. The apartment is very well presented with all the facilities you could need, its very clean and cosy and the location could not be better. Three minutes walk to the minster or so makes it ideal, and the inclusion of the garage facility makes coming by car easy. Lynne made sure that all details ( including how to get in on arrival) were sent and was kind enough when told on the last day of someones birthday to get a card and present. She is also very quick to respond to emails. a great apartment in a wonderful city

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the apartment and it's location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Thank you very much indeed for your kind and generous comments. To see you looking so happy to have had a great time in Gillygate Central and York was wonderful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrauOlsen
1 review
“Must be the best apartment in York.”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Best location, best service, best apartment. Best hosts and most kindly ever met.
If you'r visiting York stay at Gillygate Central.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Well, I am overwhelmed. Could possibly be the shortest review we have had - but quite wonderful! Thank you very much indeed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onceared
bradford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we'd been looking for.”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My partner,two sons and I,have just returned from a weekend away in York, and had a great time staying in this apartment.Unfortunately, Lynne couldn't be there to meet us, however, she left very clear,written instructions on how to enter the apartment and garage.
I mentioned to Lynne,we were coming to York to celebrate my partners 50th birthday and she very kindly left a small cake and a birthday card, as well as bread,butter,milk,tea,coffee,fruit and a bottle of Prosecco. A nice touch!
We had some concerns about the sofabeds not being suitable for our two sons,who are quite tall, but they were quite sturdy and not a problem.
The apartment is spotless and very modern and in a great location for the many shops,pubs and restaurants,and has a small garage at the rear of the property.Although the garage is quite small, we managed to get our Volvo S40 in.
We had a great time at Gillygate Central, and would definitely stay here again the next time we come to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large bed
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It's great to hear that guests want to come to our beautiful city for a special birthday or occasion. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean modern apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just returned home from a 3 night stay in this apartment. It is perfectly located close to the city wall and a few minutes walk from the Minster. It is tastefully decorated with high quality fixtures and fittings. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space in the bedroom and a very comfortable super king size bed. There is everything you need in the kitchen, should you wish to self cater, although there are lots of cafes restaurants and pubs nearby, and Lynne had stocked the fridge with milk, bread, butter fresh fruit and Prosecco which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. One of the nicest places we have stayed in and we would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: There was not much natural light, although this would not stop us from staying there again.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for the great review. We tried very hard with things like 'space' for guests and your appreciation is very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet79...
Beadnell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, modern, great location, perfect for a short stay.”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I needed to go to York for some CPD work and this flat was perfect for me. Lynne provided me a garage for my car so I could travel out of the city. She left butter, milk, bread, fruit and wine out which was lovely! Towels were provided, and the bed was extremely comfy. It caters for everything. Lynne herself was great, very helpful and friendly. The living room hosts two chairs/sofabeds if you wanted to bring your family. For people exploring the city, you are on a street with shops and to walk into the city takes 2-5 minutes.

Overall a great place and I'll be returning in a couple weekends time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We will be delighted to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;