We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely central location with cosy well appointed...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Key pad closed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad closed
Opening keypad
Keys revealed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Pat B
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely central location with cosy well appointed flat.,excellent facilities.”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Really enjoyed our Christmas at this lovely flat so central to themMinster and all amenities. The flat is beautifully furnished and decorated with good heating,excellent modern bathroom and really comfortable beds.
We felt very spoilt having everything so close especially Bistro 8 just down the road. The food there was very very good. Having a garage to put the car away was great. We never needed it in York. Hope to go again and finish the museums.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2014
It was great that you enjoyed the flat and York so much, particularly as it was Christmas. We look forward to actually being able to say "hello" next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Incredible hosts, Lynne went over and above to make sure we had everything we could possibly need from maps and guides through to bread, butter etc. The apartment was spotless and the perfect location for exploring York! We cannot wait to go back and will jump to recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in York!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Of course that's what I hope to hear! Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H
Cromer, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My parents visited York for another short break to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. They were treated to another wonderful stay! Despite the rain they made the most of their trip, commenting on their return that it didn't matter that they got soaked because they had such a warm, cosy apartment to return to. The lovely touch of a bottle of bubbly and an anniversary chocolate left by Lynne was so thoughtful and much appreciated.
Gillygate is a truly special find and no doubt they will return again to continue their love affair with the city of York.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2014
It was a total pleasure to see them again and we are so glad they love the city as much as we do. Thanks for your generous comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela h
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just arrived home from a 4 night stay at this great little apartment in York. The location was brilliant, practically on top of Bootham Bar. The owner was friendly and welcoming and popped her head in after we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed. The complimentary bottle of wine along with the bread, milk, coffee, fruit etc. were most welcome. The whole place was spotlessly clean and all of the fixtures and fittings in the apartment were good quality. The entrance into the shower is a little snug but once inside it is spacious with a great head of instant hot water, and there were plenty of lovely thick white towels. The bathroom mirror is large and very well lit with plenty of space for toiletries etc. - great for putting on my makeup. There's ample storage space in the bedroom with plenty of hangers and the bed is extremely comfortable (very firm mattress). One detail which pleased me greatly was an electric socket for my hair dryer next to a well lit mirror. I know it's a small thing but it's one that so many other places get wrong.
The only slight negative was some noise from the floor above. This was only a problem on two occasions as it did wake us up, once starting at 6.30am and continuing for an hour - obviously no carpets up there. However, this will in no way stop us from booking here in the future as everything else was spot on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
I'm glad you noticed the hairdryer socket. It has always bothered me in hotels and I was determined my guests would not have that annoyance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallulah4...
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Very nice place to stay, nice and central. Had everything we needed and more. Nice little personal touches and friendly owner

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern feel
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Thanks for your comments. Great to hear you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing