We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House”
other travellers have booked this property
No. 2 Precentor's Court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No. 2 Precentor's Court
No. 2 Precentor's Court Five Star Gold
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
No. 2 Precentor's Court
No. 2 Precentor's Court
Five Star Gold
300 year old listed building
Kitchen/diner
Kitchen clock
Kitchen/diner
Pantry
Betty's fruit cake
Lectern with 'The Knowledge'
Minster Services
The 'Knowledge'
View to courtyard garden
Hallway leading to courtyard
Courtyard garden
Lounge
Lounge
Hallway
Stairs to first floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Fireplace bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Trumpet chandalier, 1 of 2
High quaility towels and linen
House bathroom
House bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Stairs to second floor
Staircase from top landing
Top landing with vew to bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Shower wetroom
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
Precentor's Court c. 1900
West Door, York Minster
York Minster
Boxing Hare Ltd.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
l2teacher
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is hard to imagine a better place to stay to explore York. We were a multi-generational family group and renting house made it possible for us to gather together and share family time as well as to tour York and the surrounding area. We couldn't have been happier with our stay in this lovely house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

You won't beat this for location! You literally step out onto the minster. An amazingly beautiful, and very comfortable historic house, lacking for absolutely nothing. We cooked and ate in one evening and found the kitchen more than adequate. Beds super comfy. Bathrooms a pleasure to use. We had the best time here. Owners really helpful regarding directions and car parking. I also left some items of clothing behind and the owners very kindly posted them on to me at no cost. You have to stay here!
Paul, Ali & family Lincolnshire

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Precentors Court. Thank you also for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma R
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a stylish break in York”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and a group of girl friends stayed at Precentor's Court for the weekend. We found the location very easily, literally a stone's throw from the Minster. There were some lovely touches in the house, which was beautifully decorated and full of character. Because of this character there are uneven surfaces and steep stairs to negotiate so we wouldn't recommend for young children or people with mobility problems. The communication with the owners was very professional and they were very helpful and accommodating. We shall certainly return for our annual city break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FuggyWugg...
Liverpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This property is wonderful. Not only for its location, literally on the door step of York Minster, but the way the property has been sympathetically decorated and furnished to the features of the house. There is plenty of space around the house as a whole and all bedrooms give a decent amount of space and comfortable beds/pillows. The best part for us was the kitchen area and we sat in there most of the night reading, it’s a fantastically thought out area. It’s hard to find any words to better describe the house other than to just go and find out, you won’t be disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen/Diner
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful property in a central location”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This property is excellent in many ways. It has been tastefully and thoughtfully renovated, a real period piece but with every modern convenience. The location is perfect for exploring the city with most attractions and several eating places within easy walking distance. We particularly liked the very helpful local information provided which added to the enjoyment of our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing