We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant weekend in a Lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Townhouse

The white arrow in the photo shows the location of the Townhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The white arrow in the photo shows the location of the Townhouse
Master Bedroom Double room with King size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The white arrow in the photo shows the location of the Townhouse
Master Bedroom
Double room with King size bed
Twin room
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Ogleforth - the location of the Townhouse
Garden
Floor Plan - Basement - Kitchen & Dining Room
Floor Plan - Ground Floor - Lounge and WC
Floor Plan - First Floor - Master Bedroom, ensuite and separate bathroom
Floor Plan - Second Floor - Twin Room, King Double Room and separate WC
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susi_flu
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant weekend in a Lovely location”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I have just got back from a lovely Birthday weekend in York where we stopped in The Townhouse. This is the second time I have stopped there and I think it is absolutely perfect. The décor is lovely, light and airy with modern kitchen and bathrooms. The location is ideal, with shops at the end of the street and the Minster.
The thing that stood out to me the most was the service we received from Warren and Stuart, they were happy to answer all our questions and able to accommodate our needs. Thank you, this really helped make the weekend perfect!
On the Sunday evening we did the pub quiz in the Royal Oak which is a really good quiz, I would recommend this too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house, for the price you pay is amazing!
Liked least: There are a lot of stairs in the house but this is the nature of a townhouse
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C
1 review
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had the pleasure of staying at the Townhouse in March 2016. Fantastic house right in the centre of York for 6 ladies to enjoy after a long day shopping! We couldn't have asked for any more accommodation or location wise! Thank you to Stuart for his welcome and for sending our forgotten belongings back to us - what a service! Thoroughly recommended- we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
1 review
“Well appointed central house”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Well furnished and well equipped house - ideal for family get together. Central location makes it excellent for sightseeing in York. Lots of nice coffee shops and good restaurants within few minutes walk.

Written instructions on how the central heating worked would have been helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Quiet townhouse right behind the Minster”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Townhouse exceeded our expectations by a broad margin. It's central, roomy, clean. All the equipment (in the rooms, baths and kitchen) in good condition. Four floors with quite steep stairs between them. Perfect for 6 persons. Nice patio - weather permitting.
Despite its central location, a few minutes' walk from quite busy streets, it's very peaceful.
Contacts with both Warren and Stuart worked perfectly.
We would be happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of having our own house in the very centre of York.
Liked least: The temperature of the hot water in the showers fluctuated from very hot to cold.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyanne...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I would highly recommend this property for a stay in the beautiful and historical York. The house is in a perfect location in a quant little steer right behind York Minster.
The house is extramly spacious and invitingly decorated.
And a special thank you to the owner for making a special purchase of an ice bucket for our special celebration! A lovely thoughtful touch.
Can not rate this highly enough, thank you very much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing