We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant, brilliant, brillianr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lendal Tower

Lendal Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom
Master bedroom
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath 2
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Mezzanine floor bedroom
Living room
Living Room
Spiral staircase leading up the 4 floors of the Tower
Original water meter
Solid oak dining table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Roof Terrace
Roof Terrace and Museum Gardens
The beautiful secluded garden
Lendal Tower from a distance alongside Lendal Bridge
The Tower in the snow
The Tower in the snow II
Visit England 5 Star Grading
Visit England Gold Award Winning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rufioso
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant, brilliant, brillianr”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for for nights in June. What a wonderful place-closest thing to ones own castle I can imagine. Elegantly appointed throughout, modern kitchen, fantastic location for an extended visit to York, and secure parking as well. Yes there are tight spiral stairs, and you should be fit to take on the three flights to the master suite but they are part of the charm. Great views from the roof terrace where we enjoyed sundown drinks and a light lunch (didn't want to carry too much stuff up that high!). The private garden was another delight. Mike enormously helpful and welcoming. A real treasure of a place which made our stay in York quite magical.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Delighted to hear you had such a fantastic stay and that you really enjoyed the Tower and I am extra pleased you got to experience sundown on the roof terrace! Thank you very much for your kind words and I would be more than happy to welcome you again if you were to return to York another time.

All the best,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeV7193...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Stunning -”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Booked my stay for my fiancé's 23rd birthday and could not have been happier with the choice of accommodation. In total there were four of us. Given that it was a special occasion I'd searched around for a location that offered something completely unique that I was unable to find anywhere else. Lendal Tower was absolutely ideal.

In summary Lendal Tower was absolutely stunning. From the beautifully intricate bedrooms to the amazing roof terrace it was fantastic. The Tower has embraced its natural history, but has combined it with a modern nature, providing guests with everything they need for a long break away from home.

We were given a very thorough fully guided tour of the building by Mike upon arrival. He was very knowledgeable about the tower, nothing was too much trouble. We ordered a hamper for the long weekend break. The quality was brilliant. So much choice of fresh farmers food - we had to take some of it back home! Mike had included a bottle of champagne to celebrate my fiancés birthday which was a very thoughtful touch. Would definitely recommend looking on the extra's section of the website for the selection of hampers.

Perfect location for the centre of York, ideal for the race course too. Easily the most unique place I've ever stayed, without doubt will be recommending it to all of my friends and family. Would 100% stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Has to be the roof terrace - outstanding
Liked least: Couldn't fault the stay at all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
I am thrilled to hear of your fantastic experience of the Tower, particularly as it was for a special occasion. I was also delighted to hear that you really enjoyed the hamper. We source all our hampers from Weetons Food Hall in Harrogate so I will pass on your kind words to them.

I sincerely hope that you can find the time to stay with us again in the future, I would be more than happy to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexRich...
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great location with unique high quality accommodation and history”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Rented the tower for a special birthday gathering for 6 people. The 3 double bedrooms on 3 floors are very unusual and well furnished. The lounge and dining area on the ground floor are very comfortable, the kitchen is good. As others have said the view along the river from the roof is spectacular and the location could not be better - right on the middle of the city within East walking distance of everything.
There is parking for 2 cars in a lock up garage underneath the bridge.
Expensive but unique and well worth the money

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind words regarding the Tower, I am delighted you had a great time for such a special occasion. We would be very happy to welcome you back to Lendal Tower in the future.

Best Regards,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldRu...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Most brilliant base for special celebration”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Mike was the most attentive and generous host, welcoming us warmly and celebrating my 50th birthday with a chilled bottle of chilled champagne! In all the communications in preparation - nothing was too much trouble for him, and he was flexible in allowing a later checkout and welcoming our guests to this truly unique property. The property is well equipped and refurbished to the highest possible standard.
Travelled with teenage and younger children and young adults and welcomed friends from York and beyond. The tower is incredibly spacious and yet feels homely. The roof terrace and walled garden make ideal place to hosts family and friends. I had drinks and birthday cake on Saturday 'at home' in the Tower with guitars for live music on the terrace; and I cannot imagine a more memorable place for a grand birthday celebration. Even parents in the eighties were able and enjoyed climbing onto the roof for the 360 degree views of York!
We enjoyed walks on the Roman Walls and in the Snickleways, time in the Minster and Museum gardens and even collected scones and croissants freshly prepared in the coffee shop across the road!
I'm wondering when my next opportunity to host such a special weekend here might be booked!
Anything that we didn't like? We didn't want to go home!
Will never forget our stay in Lendal Tower!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrace, garden, four posters, bathrooms and spacious kitchen...
Liked least: That the sun shone most of the time but not all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2014
I am delighted to hear of your fantastic stay for such a special birthday! I'm especially pleased that all your guests, young and old alike, found their stay enjoyable and interesting. I would be happy to welcome you back to Lendal Tower in the future.

Best Regards,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodgesPW
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great History, Great Location”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We booked a long weekend at Lendal Tower. The tower has a great history and has kept many of its historic features but with some modern twists. Going between floors via the fun spiral staircase gives it a great castle feel and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
The communal living room is a great space and the rooftop terrace has great views, it would be an amazing place for a few drinks and a BBQ on a summers day.
It is also in a great central location, with easy access to various attractions, the wall and the information centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof Terrace & Hamper
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing