We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,758)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveller rating
912
521
199
87
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
521
199
87
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft suite roll top bath four poster york suite park restaurant antique furniture free standing bath lovely hotel city centre double shower breakfast was excellent one night stay main building poster bed full english ten minute walk breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, 5 star standard rooms and service. We stay here every year for our wedding anniversary in the loft suite. Breakfast is excellent, and staff do everything possible to make your stay perfect. We won’t spend our anniversary anywhere else and booked our return already! Thank you

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan137137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you for your review of your perfect review of your stay of Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
It is always lovely to see a returning guests. We are so pleased that you enjoy our beautiful loft suite so much!
Our Hearty Yorkshire Breakfast always goes down a treat with our guests, hopefully this set you up for your busy day ahead.
Thank you for mentioning our fabulous team that are always on hand and happy to help.
We look forward to welcoming you back next Year.
Kind Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We treated ourselves to 3 nights in the Loft Suite and had a wonderful stay. It was a spacious and comfortable suite, yet very cosy and snug. Nice firm bed, 2 comfy sofas for lounging and a fantastic bathroom with a generous supply of toiletries (and a separate loo, a great idea because you could spend a loooong time in that bath!). The bath was lovely and deep, there were two powerful rain showers, and the barrel sauna was perfect for warming up after a day in snowy York! The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and there was even a vegan option with scrambled tofu. A choice of free morning paper was a nice touch, too. The only small criticism I have is that there could be quite a lot of noise from adjoining rooms, partly because it's an old building with creaky floorboards. But all in all, perfect for a romantic getaway.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank azzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
Our Loft Suite is one of a kind, it is such a stunning room with the beams, Barrel Sauna, double shower and cast iron free standing roll top bath. It is a great idea regarding the separate toilet so you can soak to your hearts content.
I am glad that you enjoyed your vegan sausages and tofu.
I am sorry that you encountered issues with the noise level of other guests, we do hope that all of our guests ensure that they keep their noise level to a minimum.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

We had booked a two night break at this hotel after reading review's on this site.Well what a fantastic hotel with lots of charm and character. We were welcomed at reception by Kieran (a very professional member of staff)after some initial confusion at check-in regarding our inclusive breakfast rate,(not the hotels fault I might add) we were promptly escorted to a room & wow what a room. the room was in keeping with the Victorian style building and excellently presented.The bathroom was spacious & spotless with an excellent shower over a 'p' shaped bath ,so the best of both worlds if required. The breakfast was a delight and waitresses very attentive to our needs.Upon checkout we were allowed to leave our car at the hotel whilst we had one last walk around this beautiful town.My wife & I Will definately be staying at this hotel again .many thanks to Lucy & her team for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manger at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
Kieran is the newest member of our team, he will be thrilled with the positive comments and so will the rest of the team. I am sorry that you encountered issues with the rates we are having a few issues with third party agents.
We are so pleased that you love the character and charm of the building as much as we all do. All of our rooms do vary in shape, size and style as well as the showering facilities. I am glad that you could enjoy a long soak!
We hope you had a fabulous birthday trip away and hopefully you are feeling better.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

A nice, clean, comfortable room at the top of the house. Friendly staff. Fair price for the accommodation offered. There's a fee charged for on-site parking and nine quid for a glass of Merlot is too steep.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tyke65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Duty Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
We are pleased that you found your room and the building clean and comfortable, the housekeeping team will appreciate your comments as they all work extremely hard to ensure that a high standard is achieved.
We are very lucky to have our small onsite car park due to our central location, this is set at an additional charge of £7 per night and you may have to leave your car keys with the reception team. Neighbouring car parks are set at £2.80 an hour.
I am sorry that you feel £9 is too steep for a large glass of Merlot. The restaurant team are very particular with the wines that they choose.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Emily Ullathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

My wife and I stayed at Marmadukes for our 25th anniversary a couple of years ago and had a lovely stay, so when we decided to have a last minute winter break in York recently, we thought of Marmadukes again.

We had a two night stay with dinner in the Park Restaurant on the second night. The whole experience was excellent and the staff are extremely friendly and polite.

The tasting menu with wine was as good as we remembered it from our previous stay. We will definitely return again in the future.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mpjones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for your excellent review.

I am so pleased to read you decided to return after celebrating such a special occasion with us a few years ago.

The Park Restaurant offer a fantastic Tasting menu which i am happy to read you enjoyed.

We do hope you decide to return again very soon.

Kind Regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews