We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,756)
Filter reviews
1,756 results
Traveller rating
910
521
199
87
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
910
521
199
87
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft suite roll top bath four poster york suite park restaurant antique furniture free standing bath lovely hotel city centre double shower breakfast was excellent one night stay main building poster bed full english ten minute walk breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 1,756 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2016

An elegant Victorian hotel with many original features. !0 minutes walk to York Minster. Lovely rooms with period furniture and good bathroom en suite.
Great breakfast in a modern extension dining room. Good value for money and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend and would stay again when visiting York

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mrsv148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Thank you for taking your time to review us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
Such a short but very sweet review.
Our location is perfect for you to enjoy the delights of the city but still in a quiet location away from the true hustle and bustle within the city walls.
We are delighted to hear you would recommend us; nothing is better than a personal recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back and please ensure you book directly for the best rate guaranteed!
Kind Regards
Fran Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Very nice hotel,staff very helpful,nice and handy for city centre.breakfast was very nice and varied,we also received complimentary news paper of our choice each morning,will definitely visit again soon.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnMorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Thank you John for your time and leaving us a lovely review.
How nice it is to hear you enjoyed a midweek break with us here at Marmaduke Town House Hotel, York.
It is always nice to get away during the week; the city is so much quieter especially the beautiful shops particularly the shambles which is a favourite with all visitors.
Our breakfasts are all cooked to order which gives all our customers the flexibility to pick and choose exactly what they would like and also for multiple nights the opportunity to try something different!
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again very soon!
Kind Regards
Fran Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

The hotel is nice and close to York centre. It's relaxing. Service is great. Will return. We only ate breakfast. That was lovely. My partners veg breakfast was tasty and filling. It's a 10 min walk from the hotel to town centre.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1jimbo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016


Relaxing.. What a lovely title for a wonderful review of Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
We do try to ensure all our guests have a relaxing time and go away with their batteries fully charged.
All our breakfasts are cooked to order and we can cater for all dietaries so how lovely to hear we could cater for your partner. For any future guests we do request that you let us know in advance of any dietary requirements to ensure we can get the correct stock prior to your arrival.
Please ensure you book directly to ensure the best rate guaranteed.
Kind Regards
Fran Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We stayed for one night as part of the celebrations for my husbands sixtieth birthday. The hotel is a short walk from the city centre but that in itself is pleasant as the buildings along Bootham are fabulous. Our room was very comfortable with everything we needed for our stay and the bathroom was huge. One very minor criticism was the bathroom mirror. It was too high for me! The hotel was such a lovely change from the corporate places we stay in regularly for business trips. It was full of character, furnished beautifully and like stepping back in time but with all the modern facilities we are used to. We went to the restaurant for the eight course taster menu and it was absolutely delicious. The flavours were stunning and we enjoyed every mouthful. Already we have recommended the place to our family and friends. To end our overnight stay, the choice at breakfast was good and we can recommend the salmon and scrambled eggs. Finally, the staff at reception and in the restaurant were friendly and very attentive. We enjoyed our stay, although brief, very much.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time and leaving a lovely five-star review for Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

Thank you for choosing Marmadukes to celebrate your husbands 60th birthday, what an honor.

We are in a perfect location thank you for mentioning this excellent plus point.

We are so pleased you enjoyed our comfortable bedrooms and that you experienced our restaurant ‘The Park’, what a treat, full of flavors, colours and textures.

We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your recommendation to your friends and family.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

we loved our stay here...there were a few hiccups with the shower and a delay with breakfast but the staff did all they could for us
loved the dual aspect bedroom and the sunny breakfast room
if you like character and a homely feel its ideal
lovely residential leafy street just outside Yorks walls

Room Tip: Id recommend you stay in main hotel not the annex
Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your lovely quirky review for Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

We most certainly are full of charm and character, hopefully this detracts from anything else. We are so sorry you ended up with a few hiccups, we are always trying to improve so hopefully this wont happen on your next visit.

St Peters Grove, is beautiful and the May blossom down here just looks amazing, always gives you a spring in your step.

Hopefully you will return back to us very soon.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews