We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded expectations”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CallumB6
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The owners were so helpful and friendly, couldn't of made us feel more welcome. The apartment was beautiful, bright and airy with a really cosy feel to it. The facilities were fantastic. One of the best nights sleep we've had. Will definitely be coming back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a seated area to watch television on a night and eat without being confined to a bedroom like a normal hotel.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viccyplum
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location! Perfect customer service!”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A beatitiful cosy loft with everything we needed for our 2 night stay. A 5 min walk to the town centre, with lots of restaurants and pubs near by (but far enough away for a quiet stay) Flawless customer service; we arrived quite late in the evening and Mike was there to great us...with a packet of biscuits and milk in the fridge! I would definitely recommend this for a short stay - although the accommodation was compfartble enough to stay a week! Perfect, I really couldn't fault it. Thank you

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elaine k
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfy few days away in York”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Came to York to celebrate our daughters forth coming wedding , me and my husband booked Dukes lodge Attic apt for 2nights, having stayed in York on several occasions we decided on an apartment rather than a hotel and couldn't of been more happy ,booking was easy . We arranged to collect keys a 2pm and parked in near by Union car park which cost £23.00 for 48hrs .We arrived at 2pm to a very warm welcome and were shown to our cosy apt at the top of the house.There was everything we needed in this quirky Apartment and more ,lovely and warm with full kitchen ,bathroom with shower and bath and plenty of hot water .The living area was great and a comfy bed tucked away in the corner.There was even milk for a welcome cup of tea and a view of York Minster from the velux window. The location is ideal just a stones throw away from the city walls down a quiet street ,would highly recommended and will definitely stay again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserAnd...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bejoui Attic Studio Flat”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in the Attic Studio at Dukes Lodge. It had everything you need for self catering and in a real good location. We were only a couple of minutes from the city centre with loads of places to eat and drink along the way. The flat itself was clean and roomy enough for a studio. We booked at the last minute and were delighted to get such a nice place to stay and reasonably priced. The owner's father met us on arrival with a warm welcome. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky little flat, great location.
Liked least: Slopping ceilings, at times needed to watch you didn't bump head.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy nook; good base from which to explore the old city of York”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The top floor of Dukes Lodge is an imaginatively converted attic space that is now a well-situated, cosy nook for visitors wanting to explore York. We were there for 4 days. It has a large double bed (with a good mattress), en-suite bathroom with shower and a bath, ample cooking facilities and a small lounge area with TV. Large velux windows give plenty of light, and the afternoon sunlight was certainly very warming. We liked the funky, angled walls, though it might not be for everyone. The apartment owners were very friendly and welcoming, and helped us out with the perennial challenge of parking in an old city, where restrictions abound.

The apartment is located 50 metres down a side road off Gillygate, just outside the old walls, and is itself a bustling street with lots of great shops. Particularly recommended as of Aug 2014 are ‘Bistro Guy’ (hearty breakfasts) and ‘Love Cheese’- an amazingly well stocked shop with connoisseur staff. The apartment is a mere 2-minute walk from Bootham Bar (the old city entrance), and from there you are well placed to explore the old city. The cathedral is ~4 minutes away on foot. We used the book ‘Complete Snickleways of York’ to give us a walking itinerary around the city over four days, and it was great to have this guide to take us to places we might not have otherwise known about. Highlight dinner for us was, surprisingly, down Shambles. I was worried about it being a tourist trap (which it is during the day), but the Italian restaurant ‘L’antica Locanda’ was fabulous. Not cheap but really authentic. Reserve well ahead of time. Good pubs: Snickleway Inn, Golden Fleece, and the splendidly named House of Trembling Madness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a great location; away from immediate tourist centre, but so close to old city
Liked least: It might be time to 'freshen' some of the paintwork- apartment was very clean but the decor is a little tired now
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 133
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing