We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent value, lovely B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gregory's Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gregory's Guest House
Ranked #20 of 206 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value, lovely B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a Christmas break at Gregory's. We really enjoyed our stay. Martin and Bev were very friendly and attentive hosts. After a long drive, it was really appreciated when Martin even offered to make us a cup of tea or coffee on arrival and returned with warm homemade shortbread too! We stayed in Room 1, which was great. It was warm, quiet and well furnished. The room and en suite were immaculately clean and the bed was very comfortable. Nice extras like Brita filtered water and a wall mounted flatscreen tv with dvd player.
It was a relatively short walk (15 mins or so) into the centre of York and lots of little restaurants nearby if you don't fancy walking all the way into the city.
The breakfast was great - delicious and generous portions- we barely needed any lunch later in the day! This is our fifth or sixth stay in York and, having discovered Gregory's, we are sure that we will return there again on our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    37
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
233
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Gregory's was exactly what my boyfriend and I needed!

Instead of sharing gifts this Christmas, we wanted to get-away for a short Christmas break, and we're so happy that we did! From the moment that we walked in the door, we were made to feel most welcome by Bev and Martin. Nothing was ever too much trouble, and the refreshments on arrival were much appreciated after a very trying journey.

Our room was beautifully decorated, and kitted out with all the essentials. It was a lovely sized bedroom, and the bed was extremely comfortable - we both slept fantastically! The room prices were extremely reasonable, considering the quality of the room/service; the fantastic location; and the brilliant breakfast that was served in the morning.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B, and have to emphasise how lovely the owners were. Gregory's truly was a little gem! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HTinning19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed at Gregorys for a short Christmas break. Very enjoyable, very clean, really comfy bed our 9 year old loved it. The b and b is on a main road but I couldnt hear a thing outside it was lovely and quiet as was the whole hotel. Decor was lovely and rich. Bev and Martin made us feel so welcome and made us a hot drink and homemade shortbread upon our arrival. Nice place!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We have just returned from a Christmas shopping trip and Gregorys guest house put the icing on the cake! The rooms are beautiful and the attention to detail is excellent, they seem to have thought of everything, right down to the sewing kit in the drawer! Bev & Martin were really helpful and knowlegable about York directing us to the the places we wanted with ease. Enjoyed it so much that we have already booked for next year!! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire,England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Gregory's is the kind of B&B you want to keep secret all to yourself as you'll want to go back there and not be dismayed to find you can't get a room due to it's popularity. Gregory's only has four letting rooms, three on the first floor and an attic room. We have just returned from a late booking which meant we had the attic room which is the smallest of the four rooms and not suitable for the elderly due to it's location but don't let that put the rest of you off. The room although compact still fits in an en-suite bathroom and in fact every area of Gregory's is spotlessly clean and fresh, your hosts, Martin and Bev are a very warm and inviting couple who'll point you in the right direction on any query regarding the area. Ideally place about 15 minutes or so walking distance to York centre along the riverside you won't find a better priced accommodation in the area. On street parking in the surrounding streets is the order of the day which is free. The breakfast meal is enough to fill any constitution and set you up for the day with locally sourced ingredients used to give a tasty start to the day. Remember this is a terraced house so every spare inch has been utilised cleverly and efficiently.I would have gladly given a 5 rating had we been able to book a larger room but that was our fault for a very late booking nonetheless we will be returning hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: The attic room is the smallest and is let the last so book early or expect a smaller room which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 km away
Ashley Guest House
Ashley Guest House
#11 of 206 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.9 km away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 206 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.8 km away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 206 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.5 km away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
0.7 km away
Acer Guest House
Acer Guest House
#25 of 206 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregory's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregory's Guest House

Property: Gregory's Guest House
Address: 160 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price range (per night): $123 - $136
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregory's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small & friendly Bed & Breakfast located on the award winning 'Best High Street In The UK''Bishyrd' here on Bishopthorpe Road in York. We have two breakfast awards and a four star and silver award from VisitEngland. All our rooms are en suite with all the essentials towels, shaving point, hairdryer, trouser press, TV, DVD player, free wifi, books maps and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer various options from our Deliciously Yorkshire Breakfast including our full English or other options from our extensive breakfast menu,we also offer a vegetarian,dairy free,and gluten free breakfast. Ample free on-street parking means you can leave your car here at our bed and breakfast and walk along the riverside walk into York.Take care for now and see you soon. Martin & Bev gregorysofyork ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gregory`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing