We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I want to live here!”

Review of St Denys View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A S
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want to live here!”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Charming, beautifully furnished and fully equipped terraced townhouse within walking distance to everything you could possibly want to do or see in York. We arrived after 15 hours of travel that did actually include planes, trains and automobiles, to a warm welcome from caretakers Richard and Debbie. I had hopes for the property based on the photos, but it was even better than anticipated. The beds were very comfortable, the linens were lovely and the shower was HOT! We spent seven nights and my 14 year old had tears in her eyes as we left. We are already working on figuring out our next visit!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eidebc
Gloversville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable home, convenient location”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the property for five nights and were very pleased with the accommodation. The property is nicely decorated and very well equipped. It was a short walk to many of the historic attractions. Parking is not on-site but is nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: seating in the lounge was fine for two adults - not for more
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan161
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location but small, uncomfortable and unhelpful owners.”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our flight from Abu Dhabi was delayed so we contacted the owner who said no problem and offered sympathetic noises, telling us to phone the care-takers when we arrived after our 23 hour journey. We arrived at 10pm and rang them to find they had turned off their phones and gone to bed. There being no accommodation in York available after driving around for 3 hours we ended up 4 of us having to sleep in the small car on our first night at St Denys View (later we rang the owner who said he didn't have keys to his own property and refused to ring the care-takers, so couldn't help us).

That aside. This is a well presented and well appointed small terraced house in a central position close to many amenities. It is however on a busy bus route and is a bit of a rat run for lorries and trucks creating a lot of noise. The upstairs is lovely and has plenty of room for 4 people. The downstairs dinning room is a good size and very pleasant. The kitchen is modern and has everything you would need. The central heating is limited (unless you understand it) and we found ourselves wearing coats in the house on occasion. However the main (and only living room) is tiny and will seat 2 people only, due partly to size but more so to there being only one uncomfortable 2 seater settee. To be fare the owners do state it is more suitable for 2 adults only (I would listen to this advice). It has a very small TV with poor reception but good Wi-Fi. There is no car parking as such, you will be given pot luck on a potential space several streets away in the car park of a drinking club which is busy and holds about 8 vehicles. We found ourselves blocked in on two occasions and our hire car damaged on one occasion (costing us 400 pounds). The rest of the time we used very expensive car parks. The accommodation would suit a retired couple with no transport but struggled (or rather never attempted) to meet our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Central
Liked least: Nowhere to sit. Sleeping in the car and getting the care damaged.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at St Denys View and we would like to take this opportunity to apologise again that your holiday got off to such a bad start.
We are so sorry that communication clearly broke down on this occasion, as while we will always try to help we request on booking that you get in touch with the housekeepers in advance to agree a provisional arrival time. Our housekeepers are unable to offer arrivals after 9.00pm without prior arrangement and we apologise that this was perhaps not made clear to you at the time of booking. When you phoned our agent at 1.00am in the morning and told him you were en route to York he advised you that he did not hold any keys to the property and that you would have to make alternative arrangements for your first night's stay in York. we are sorry that this led to you spending a n uncomfortable night.
We wer very glad that apart from this you enjoyed much about your stay including the fantastic central location and that you found the house well presented and well appointed with good WiFi ( free of charge). We are so pleased that you found the upstairs lovely and that you enjoyed spending time in the generously sized dining room with it's French doors leading out to the courtyard, as well as finding the kitchen well equipped with everything you would need.

We are sorry you did not enjoy the style in which the living room has been furnished.Many of our guests love the simple continental style of seating, finding it elegant and comfortable and we generally open up the double doors between the sitting room and dining room to create a lovely large and light space leading out to the courtyard. However we do understand that it is not to everyone's taste and as you say, we do provide photo's and a written warning so that people can decide if it will suit them before booking. Thank you for alerting us to the problem with the television reception, this has now been fixed. We are sorry that you were bothered by road noise. While the house is in a relatively quiet area for such a central location within the city walls, being in the city centre there is some noise and the degree to which you find it troublesome will depend very much on what you are used to.
We are very disappointed to read about the problems you had with the central heating system and the car parking. Our housekeepers explain how to use the central heating system when guests arrive and there is a written instruction sheet provided. we have asked our housekeepers to to stress that if any problems arise during their stay our guests should give them a call so they can help.
We are also very sorry not to have known the problems you encountered with parking during your stay, particularly as, had we known, we would have been able to offer an alternative arrangement at no cost to yourself. Since the beginning of September we have changed our provision to car park which is even nearer to the property (100m) with ample access and CCTY monitoring and as before we include this free of charge with the stay.

Many apologies once again that there were these communication problems during your stay and please rest assured that we have taken action to ensure that this will not happen again. We do appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback and are very glad that you were able to enjoy many aspects of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DisplayNa...
Stade, Germany
2 reviews
“Perfect base for sightseeing and sports”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

10 minutes to the Minster, 2 to the closest restaurant, 3 to a store - by foot! Less than an hour by car to the coast in one direction and the Yorkshire Dales in another. This location is perfect.
Loved the bedrooms, the well equipped kitchen, ... and everything else. Quiet neighbors. Working Wi-Fi. Very tasteful interior decoration. Clean. Left nothing to be desired.
The only problem we had was deciding whether to tour this fascinating city of York or cycle in its surroundings. I'll have to come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at St Denys View.
We are glad that you found our central location so covenient for exploring both the city of York and the surrounding countryside. We are delighted that you liked our interior decoration, we have really enjoyed finding beautiful and unusual things to offer a relaxing space to guests. we have tried to supply everything our guests could possibly need in the kitchen, so glad you found it to be well equipped. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the bedrooms, including the bedding and mattresses and the good WiFi access. We are pleased the booking, directions and key access all worked smoothly for you.

We are not surprised you were spoilt for choice for things to do - after many visits to York, we are still discovering new things each time we come. We are pleased that our property was an ideal base for your holiday plans, including cycle tours - a shame you had to leave before Le Grand Depart. We hope you will come back to visit the places you couldn't fit in this time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsm606
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My son was getting married in York and we needed somewhere to stay within walking distance of the city centre. This house was perfect. The attention to detail was second to none: the beds were so comfortable, the decor perfect, equipment extensive, sunny courtyard, lovely view of St Denys church. The house just made our wedding weekend perfect and a lovely place for our son to spend his last night as a single man. We will most definitely be renting this house again. The rest of my extended family admired it and also want to use it as a York base in the future. Just make sure its free for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was so well equipped and attractive
Liked least: Not all the seating in the living room was very comfortable. Ok for 2 but not 4 people.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at St Denys View.

We are so pleased that you found the house to be the perfect venue for your very special weekend and added to you happy memories. It's nice to hear you liked our style of decor and found everything you needed for your stay. We are glad you found the beds comfortable enabling you to be well rested for your son's big day. We are pleased our house offered space downstairs to spend time with you extended family. We too find June is alovely time to stay, with leafy views over the churchyard, the early morning sun on the church tower and sunny afternoons in the courtyard.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you rated everything so highly. We would love to welcome you and your extended family for another stay and hope you will come back to St Denys View soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing