We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queen Annes Guest House
Ranked #63 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had no choice other than to arrive later than 19.30hrs, but after a brief phone conversation, arrangements were made for us to arrive later. These arrangements were made in good humour and without rancour by the staff and that very much set the scene for the rest of our stay. We always found the staff to be both polite and helpful.
The guest house itself is two houses on a road of mainly Victorian terraces,from external appearance it felt very much like home, so, we weren't phased by narrow-ish roads and tight-ish parking. I drove down it in a van and parked easily, I'm surprised someone from across 'The Pond' had to brush against wing mirrors, perhaps the roads where they are from aren't so 'quaint'. Inside it is a typical B&B. Narrow staircases and compact rooms, which were spotless. The tea and coffee facilities were replenished daily and the plumbing just about coped. The en-suite was ultra-compact. I found that if I'd had the desire to, I could have sat on the lavatory and cleaned my teeth at the same time in the basin whilst washing my feet in the shower. I suggested this for my bathroom at home and received an old-fashioned look for my trouble.
The houses opposite are probably student lets.Whilst this caused us no particular problems most of the time, on the Saturday night of our stay, one chap had gotten himself dumped by his amour and had come out onto the street to remonstrate with her without disturbing his house-mates, unfortunately he swore so loudly and profoundly he disturbed everyone within 50yds. This kind of disturbance may well be a one off.
We that it took us ten minutes to get to York Minster by foot ( York is on Google Streetview).

Room Tip: The attic room we were in had thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateandSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    71
    30
    13
    9
See reviews for
40
147
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

have stayed here 3 times so far will always stay here when we come to york very clean and friendly close to town centre dan and jan.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golddigger12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The b and b was well located, 5 mins walk from the minster. The bedding was clean, as was the rest of of the room. The en-suite had a shower cubical with an easy to control shower, a toilet, hand-basin and mirror. For breakfast there was a choice of cereal and you were served tea/coffee and toast. You could also choose what elements of cooked breakfast you wanted.
Would definitely recommend and stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel_1_7_11_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patterson, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

This B&B was clean, had a lovely breakfast, gave us great service, and had enough room for us all, we were a party of 2 families of 4 and a single adult. They helped us with directions and touring, and we could park for free. Minutes walk to the historic wall surrounding York. Quiet peaceful street. We forgot my daughter's pillow and phone charger and they happily mailed it to us.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This was our first time in a guest house and was perfect for what we wanted. We were met by the owner on our arrival and a parking permit had been arranged for us. The street was busy but we managed to park outside the guest house and didnt need to use our vehicle again until we left.
We had a family room with an en suite which was spacious and clean. We were given a key so we could come and go as we pleased. The breakfast was good with choice of cereal, toast and full english.
Value for money was very good and we would confidently recommend this guest house.
Having normally stayed at modern hotels, i was concerned i may find it 'uncomfortable' but the homeliness and slightly outdated interior kind of added to its charm and made it feel like i was staying at a friends house.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaRodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 km away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.5 km away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#38 of 192 in York
387 reviews
0.2 km away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 192 in York
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
350 reviews
0.2 km away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#14 of 192 in York
771 reviews
0.2 km away
Airden House
Airden House
#51 of 192 in York
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Annes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Annes Guest House

Property: Queen Annes Guest House
Address: 24 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price range (per night): $127 - $198
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Annes Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Queen Annes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Annes Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing