We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely charming 2 story flat in terrific...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge into Kitchen The Historic frontage of County House and car park area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Lounge into Kitchen
The Historic frontage of County House and car park area
Communal entrance hall
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining room
Mezzanine looking into Dining room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dav1d49
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“going downhill”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

we have stayed at this apartment several times before and always rated it 5*.this time I have to downgrade it.first thing I noticed was different colour paint touched up in the hall.then with the sun shining through to the kitchen area we could see the hob and tiles were filthy.my wife said it looked like someone had been cleaning everywhere with the same cloth and spreading grease etc all around.there was a odd mix of glasses and only 3 large and 3 small plates(despite being an apartment for 4).the owners reply to my complaint was they knew about the paint but had it mixed and it didnt match and they hadnt time to get a decorator in.its only a small wall with a mirror and door out so would have taken about 15mins to do the whole lot.they stated they had new crockery and glasses (but that didnt help me especially as we invited friends who were in york for a meal as they wanted to view the apartment).I know they are missing the previous cleaner who was brilliant but when the price increases I expect the same standards.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
On the thankfully extremely rare occasion that Rory and I receive an unfavourable review for 50 County House, we are truly mortified. On this occasion, when such a review has been left by a long-standing guest, our mortification is doubled. We have always made an honest and genuine effort to maintain high standards and 'go the extra mile' for all our guests - a scenario to which our TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence and overall 5 star rating would appear to attest. Obviously we don't always 'get it right' but, whenever our guests make constructive suggestions, we do our best to make the appropriate adjustments - from adding a potato peeler to the cutlery to providing a high chair to assist families with small children. With regard to the observations made in this review, we do respectfully take them all on board. The comment as to the hob and tiles has been referred to our cleaners, and this area of the kitchen is now so dazzlingly clean that it can only be viewed through dark glasses. There has been a complete overhaul of tableware (planned but unfortunately not executed prior to this visit) and the necessary painting work has also been scheduled. In our defence, redecoration has always been rendered more problematic by our original decision to go with a bespoke colour scheme as opposed to, say, a bog standard magnolia. It should perhaps also be pointed out that the three reviews immediately prior to this one were all still favourable and all of the 5 star variety. This is not complacency on my part; I am merely looking to put matters into some sort of overall perspective. In conclusion, Rory and I hope to welcome these valued guests back for something like their 5th booking, so that they can resume their happy relationship with our beautiful apartment. Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie Cha...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming 2 story flat in terrific, close-in location.”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My cousin and I, both retired seniors, greatly enjoyed the apartment. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well supplied. Be aware that both bedrooms are upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs. The apartment is very close to a large food store, and is right at Monks Gate and the city wall, where you can climb the steps and walk along the ancient wall.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely break,”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A very well equipped apartment. Close to everything you would want to visit in York. Nice touches of DVDS and books if all that sightseeing tires you out. Sainsburys next door so convenient. Thankyou for such a nice time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJ W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This place was simply superb! Only a couple of minutes from the Minster, an ideal spot to stay at! People have complained about the shower, but I managed to sort out the water with ease (slightly adjusting the settings) easy to turn on the water booster!! Very secure place and so clean! You also have the added bonus of Sainsbury's being 1 minute away. And the greatest thing about this retreat? NO NOISE WHATSOEVER!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerHer...
Hereford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous location in central York, immaculate apartment for 4”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This apartment is perfect for visiting York. It is 5 mins walk from York Minster and the city centre and has secure parking. It is also next door to a sainsburys. It is very clean and well equipped. There are loads of places to eat all within a 5 to 10 minute walk. The building itself is beautiful - a hospital built in the 1700s. We would thoroughly recommend and will definitely stay again. Thanks Nikki.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing