We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
1 review
“Great location!”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We loved our stay at Duke's lodge. The room was clean and tidy and very cosy. The location was perfect walking distance from central York. Michael was very helpful and welcoming, we had a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRBW
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I titled my review, "Location, location, location" but it was much more than that. We were met by the owner and his wife when we arrived. They are wonderful people. Since we were early, they hadn't yet gotten the milk and cookies that they usually greet their guests with. However, Michael's wife (I'm so sorry that I can't remember her name) went out to the store and purchased these things even though it was raining. Above and beyond what we expected. The cookies were incredible, by the way.

On to my "Location" title. Right at the end of the street is a great pub that we didn't discover (even though we'd passed by it several times a day) until the last night. We would loved to have eaten there. We were within close walking distance to everything. The Abbey is probably 10 minutes, at best, from the Studio. Restaurants and a grocery store were ALL within minutes. We don't think we could have gotten a location much better.

We took a tour given by volunteers that was amazing. We visited the Abbey and even went to an evening service there. We shopped until we dropped and visited a ton of restaurants. All of which were fantastic.

We had a car but had to park it in the lot down the street. I think it was about 3 minutes walk, tops. It was 12.40 pounds for 24 hours. I think Michael mentioned a friend whose lot is closer that he can call if 3 minutes is too far away for you.

The Studio was all that we needed as far as space goes but we only brought one carry-on piece of luggage apiece. If you have a lot of luggage, you can slip it under the bed for storage.

We would stay there again without hesitation and would recommend it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No coffee press
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thank you ever so much for your kind review- we hope that we may see you again, some time in the future !
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, here in York.
Best wishes.
Michael and Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare P
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We booked this in October 2015 so when the time came to travel we were really worried about the recent floods. Michael the host was really helpful and honest and we realised we needn't have worried. The apartment is about 10-15 mins walk from the station. Michael and his wife met us there and explained all the workings and gave us some really handy tips of where to visit. Tea coffee and milk also provided. It is a really cosy comfy studio. It is literally 5 minute walk to all the attractions with some great bistros and wine bars now. We ate at turtle Bay a great carribean restaurant and a place called Lucias which is highly recommended. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and York is a fantastic city break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james w
Negombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just a hop, skip and a jump from beautiful York City.”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Michael met us diligently, took care of our parking issues and laid out everything we needed with due care. The studio was warm and cosy and has everything you could possibly need to settle in and enjoy the wonderful city of York. Just a stones throw away from the city walls and York minster, the apartment was impeccably clean and the four poster bed a dream to sleep in.

Thanks again for the flexibility and warm smiles!

J+J

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you James; it was a pleasure to welcome you both; and hopefully see you sometime again.
So pleased you enjoyed your visit !
Best wishes.
Michael and Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danièle F
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
“Charming English House!!!”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very well located! 10 minutes from train station. Near York center.

The owners are friendly and thoughtful.

We recommend this appartment without any hesitations.

Merci et bon voyage

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing