We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property, in quiet area only 2 minutes...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 30A Monkgate

Lounge/Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/Dining Room
Exterior Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Lounge/Dining Room
Exterior
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maxine m
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent property, in quiet area only 2 minutes walk from city centre and York minster”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a 4 night stay in this wonderful house for Christmas 2016. The house is situated 2 minutes walk from the city centre, has private parking for those with cars or, for those arriving by train, is 10 to 15 minutes walk from the train station. The house is warm and is well furnished throughout. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen is excellent, as are the bathroom and the living/ dining room. Not being tied to the meal times of hotels and bed and breakfasts gave us the freedom to come and go as we pleased, and eating in, instead of dining out was a lot cheaper in the long run. There is a Sainsbury supermarket only 2 minutes walk away from the house if this is your preferred option. Of course. if you prefer there are many excellent restaurants in York. Having stopped here once I would hope to return again in the future, I cannot think of one negative thing to say about this property, even the next door neighbour was very friendly and we never heard any noise from his property during our stay. Highly recomended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Inyork Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment, great location”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is our second stay at this apartment and we were not disappointed. It is such a great location and the apartment has been well maintained and was very clean.
Park the car at the property and walk to almost everything in York, then easy access to the A64 for those day trips across Yorkshire.
Supermarket just a quick stroll round the back for all the necessary supplies.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattresses were a bit soft
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great little city apartment”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a wonderful stay at 30A Monkgate. The apart is split over 3 floors with 2 good size double bedrooms. A fully stocked kitchen, clean, neat and tidy - it ticks all the boxes of what you might need on a city break. It is just a stone's throw from the city wall entrance next to York Minster and all the fabulously touristy stuff one wants to see! Highly recommend staying here.

The customer service was also exceptional, as we were arriving late at night we were greeted by text before we arrived and a few staple items such as tea and milk were left, ready and waiting for us which was a lovely and unexpected touch. We also managed to leave an item behind which was promptly posted back to us. All in all a stress-free experience.

I would happily stay in this apartment or one of their others again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryC1243
County Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
“This was the perfect holiday home in the perfect place.”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The property was delightful, spotless and in a perfect position to explore the centre of York. With the off-street parking, the car was safe and Sainsburys was literally a few minutes walk away, so the car was only used when venturing further afield.

We love York, and would definitely stay in this property again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMT1962
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in York. 30A Monkgate was an ideal place to stay as it was just a short walk from all of York's places to visit. On arrival we were welcomed and shown around all the facilities in the house. Tea , coffee, milk and sugar were all provided also hand soaps available in the kitchen, bathroom and toilet which was a nice surprise. We would all love to come back at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing