We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This apartment is lovely, well-equipped, quiet...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 15 Stonegate Court

The Minster from our piazza
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Minster from our piazza
Sitting area Sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
The Minster from our piazza
Sitting area
Sitting area
Dining area
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Second bedroom: super-king configuration
Second bedroom: twin-beds configuration
En suite bathroom
Main bathroom
Our private south-facing terrace
Floor plan
Another view from Stonegate Court's piazza
The Shambles
Low Petergate
Betty's Café - 50 yards from our door!
Walking the wall
A local resident...
The Minster organ
Another local resident...
The Archbishop and friends...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jrose1g
Miami, FL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This apartment is lovely, well-equipped, quiet, and perfectly located in the heart of York.”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have rented various apartments in York over the last 20 years - all of them perfectly acceptable - but this one was outstanding in its comfort, location, and quiet. Even though it is in the very heart of York, less than a 5-minute walk from York Minster, the city walls, the Shambles, etc., and even though the city centre of York is usually bustling with activity, once you go into the building with the apartment, it is absolutely quiet. From the terrace area outside the apartment, you see the towers of the Minster just over a couple of red tile roofs, and if you open the windows, you can hear the cathedral bells. Otherwise, it is its own little haven of quiet in the center of the city. The apartment was ideal for 4 adults traveling together - spacious, comfortable, and with a well-equipped kitchen. The parking space for the car is an easy walk away, making day trips to places like Whitby, the Moors, and Fountains Abbey quite simple. We especially enjoy the choral services at York Minster, and this apartment allowed us to walk over in literally 5 minutes. Also, the wifi set-up is excellent. Getting to the apartment to unload is tricky because of the streets of York and the hours that cars can enter the city, but our apartment owner gave us detailed, explicit directions that made it work well. Be sure to print out and read and follow the directions he provides ahead of time and as you drive in, if you arrive by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: There was not a thing I didn't like.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHtravele...
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and amenities!”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This central York apartment is not only lovely,well equipped, and quiet --it is within blocks of everything you'll want to see. We were joined by our daughter and son in law for a delightful week at 15 Stonegate Court. With 2 bedrooms and baths, it provided enough privacy for all. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathrooms modern and sparkling. There is a large balcony for looking at the sky and listening to the bells at York Minster. The TVs and free WiFi kept everyone in touch. The parking spot the comes with the apartment was well located and made forays outside the city easy.The owner was accommodating and friendly which added to a fascinating visit to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean tasteful decoration
Liked least: absolutely no complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJHATFIEL...
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment everything you could want and so central”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is so close to everything. Easy walk from station. Very quiet although it's in the centre of York. John has thought of everything even candles in the bathroom, books, games,
Play station, even umbrellas in case of rain. Tea cakes and wine appreciated. This apartment was immaculate and I would recommend to everyone. Will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location and owners service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S
Worsley Manchester U. Kingdomu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Apartment everything you could wish for”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great Location very close to York Minster.Plenty of places to visit. It is a shoppers paradise with so many lovely shops. When you leave the apartment you are right in the centre of York.
The apartment is nicely decorated, very comfy and immaculate. Lovely comfy beds with lovely bedding. John the owner called to see us when we arrived to make sure everything was okay It was my birthday and my.daugher asked John if he could have some flowers sent to the apartment which he very kindly did. Lovely cake and bottle of wine awaiting for us when we arrived. We will look forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment & Location
Liked least: Nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvieP
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic return visit”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This wonderfully comfortable apartment has great views to York Minster and you can catch the 'road train' to the Railway Museum for a great day out. The apartment is very well appointed and will provide you with all the comforts of home. The owner, John takes very good care of his visitors, this was our second visit and we will certainly be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the terrace
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing