We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,677)
Filter reviews
1,677 results
Traveller rating
917
532
158
50
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
532
158
50
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub city centre car park railway line museum gardens few minutes walk lovely hotel no lift top floor quiet street excellent location small hotel york minster deluxe room full english free parking breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 1,677 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Great location on a very quiet street - only a ten minute walk from York Minster. We had a large, clean room - there's no lift, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs. Great breakfast options, and a pleasant bar area for a nightcap. Good wifi. There's a hot tub behind the hotel for a relaxing soak after a day of sightseeing. Only a fifteen minute walk from the train station, but the most direct route involves carrying your luggage up stairs on either side of a footbridge that crosses the river. Overall very pleased, and would definitely stay at Hedley House again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

My wife and I stayed at Hedley House in April for two nights and had a very enjoyable stay. We travelled by car and parked in their car park at the rear of the hotel and is easy to miss as it is down a narrow alley between two properties, but it is of a reasonable size. We stayed in a luxury double room which had a big comfortable bed, TV which was connectable to any apple device via an Apple TV box, which we didn't try and a big bathroom with a large shower and all rooms had internet access, although it didn't work on our first night as the owner who checked us in was going through a change of provider.
We had an evening meal on our first night and I must say the meal was excellent, as was the breakfast we had on both mornings. The breakfast was served exactly how we wanted it, as the staff asked how and what we wanted for each course.
The hotel does have a bar but it closes at 10pm, so if you want a drink after that time you will have to seek it out else where and that brings me to my next point of location.
Hedley House is perfectly placed from the town centre of York being only a 10 minute walk from the minster, although we walked through the York museum gardens both days to get to the town centre which is a little longer than the direct route a but much better walk.
The staff are all very friendly and make you feel very welcome from the moment you check in, all in all our stay was very comfortable and relaxing so if you put all the points I have mentioned together you will not go wrong staying at Hedley House something of which we would very much like to do again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the luxury rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mark3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

warm welcome and excellent customer service throughout our two night stay. Large airy room, would have preferred bath, but good shower. Décor a little odd, but felt very comfortable. The breakfast was very good, but otherwise the food average. However, would stay again if in York.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eleyskippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017
Google Translation

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We were visiting York for the first time and stayed here for three nights (Friday- Sunday). We were more than pleased with our decision - the hotel is perfectly located being just a 10 minute walk from the city centre and we liked the choice of walking direct to the Minster area via the A19 just yards away, or our preference, the 'scenic route', via the end of Bootham Terrace and through the Museum Gardens/along the river. The £10 a night car park was a boon - we left the car parked there the whole weekend, we didn't use it until we checked out for our return journey to Southampton.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - nice, comfortable bedroom, lots of choice with the breakfast and friendly staff. York itself is irresistible so a return visit is on the cards, wouldn't hesitate staying at the Hedley House again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank PVilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here just before the Easter weekend on a Groupon deal.

The hotel is nice and tidy, clean and well maintained. The reception/lounge/bar area is compact and multi-functional, but the bar is well stocked with a surprisingly large range of drinks.

We got a free upgrade to a deluxe room which was on the third floor. There isn't a lift here which was fine for us and there are ground floor rooms, so the hotel can acommodate any visitor.

The room itself was very clean and tidy. We felt the decor was ready for a makeover - just like the bathroom had had, which was beautiful and very modern.

The breakfasts are plentiful with a great choice of hot food and enough of a choice of cereals etc to keep you happy.

We also had dinner on the first evening which was stunning! The menu was smaller than we expected, however the food was beautiful and we would definitely recommend eating there.

The hotel is in a quiet road but is only a 10 minute walk to be in the heart of the city and right outside the Minster. The car park is great and well worth the £10 a day supplement.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan16101974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews