We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveller rating
918
532
158
50
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
532
158
50
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub city centre car park railway line museum gardens few minutes walk lovely hotel no lift top floor quiet street excellent location small hotel york minster deluxe room full english free parking breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2015

This is our 3rd visit to Hedley house,a lovely break before Christmas.the staff are fantastic ,we have room 2 ,which has everything you need,the bed is massive and so comfortable ,special thanks to the lovely Mandy & Andrew who can't do enough.The breakfast is lovely,see you next Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gloworm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

In the beginning, the receptionist misguided with the room but I got larger room. Location is a walk distant with the city center and St John York University. Restaurant staff are friendly however the ambiance is 'cold' for the morning breakfast. The wifi connection was less smooth.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferdidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

From booking right through to check out we were treated to some excellent service and hospitality!
The hotel was a perfect location for my daughter and I for our annual pre-Christmas shopping trip, being just over five minutes walk from the Minster and the shops.
I booked by phone to ensure that we had a room with single beds and was immediately engaged in conversation and felt welcomed. When we actually did arrive the young man on the desk could not have been more helpful. In fact, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout the whole weekend.
Our room was more of a suite with three single beds, a kitchenette and a bathroom. The room was warm, clean and comfortable; the only very minor complaint was that in the morning, the bathroom was a little chilly - but it was the coldest weekend in November! It was fine later in the day.
We dined in the hotel the first night and had a lovely meal that was generous in portion size and tasty. We also enjoyed a good house red! The breakfast was equally good with lots of choice.
The location is ideal for exploring York and for shopping and dining elsewhere. We were able to come back with our purchases and head off again which made it a lot easier!
Both my daughter and I agreed that next time we visit York, we will definitely be making a reservation at the Hedley House Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Really enjoyed our second stay at Hedley House. Giant sized bed really comfy and warm, had a great sleep. Staff lovely and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Choice of breakfast to suit any taste, (compliments to the chef xx), which is a great start your busy day site seeing and shopping around York. Will be back for third visit soon.

Room Tip: Wide stairways but no lift available, easy access from inside hotel to rear car park
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Had an excellent stay at Hedley House. Staff friendly and very helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. Food in restaurant also excellent as is the breakfast. Only one downfall ours was a triple room upstairs with no lift but we managed ok.

Room Tip: Also offer beauty treatments and has hot tub.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews