We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely hotel in an excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely hotel in an excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We will definitely stay here again. The staff were were very friendly & helpful .Our room was clean & spacious with a large flat screen wall TV, modern bathroom and shower & comfy double bed. The location was perfect, Just a 5-10 minute stroll to the centre, with a Sainsbury’s nearby and a few pubs along the way. Free parking at the back of the hotel. The breakfast was lovely & cooked to perfection.
A very enjoyable weekend in a lovely City and Hotel. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: Although a Railway line was opposite our room we did not experience any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    491
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
233
847
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a nice place to stay. I did not realize that the family room came with a kitchenette so we did not cook in the room, but it would have been easy to do. We took advantage of the breakfast each morning (very nice) and had a wonderful dinner in the dining room. The staff was terrific and the host provided plenty of room for our family. It was convenient to walk to all the tourist activities we wanted to do. The staff worked with us to make sure the room was located where we needed it (traveled with an 80 year old) so we did not have too many stairs. Easy to walk to from the train station - great directions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMTDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have stayed twice in one month and service has been superb on both occasions. Every aspect has been top rate.

Room Tip: If you are a bit shaky on legs they will ensure ground floor accommodation if at all possible. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thanks for the great review, hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthWest England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The best thing about here has to be the staff and how friendly and welcoming they are. From eception to the ladies who served us breakfast were extreamly helpful when it came to asking about the local attractions (im sure they repeat themselves all the time about these, however they was very enthusiastic) On arrival we was given a handy little guide book (which has offers in of local attractions) and was informed on all the relevant information that we needed.

The rooms were clean, with a great shower and modern tv on the wall; they was also extreamly spacious which was great. The bed very comphy also! On our second day our beds was freshly made again, bins emptied and more milk & teabags added to our service tray. Having never been to York before we had no idea were to stay but we heard of these through the online voucher sites and am very glad we came!! Ideal location, not on the main steet (which we like) but in a great location to access everything, the little Sainsburys up the road was ideal on our walks back to the hotel.

The breakfast was a lovely wake up call for the day. Entering the breakfast room had a very welcoming feel, the staff greeting you with a warm hello and smile, each table dressed with a fresh rose and the music being played at just the right volume all complimented each other. The food itself was lovely, tasty with just the just sized portions and the toast coming out still hot enough so the butter melts was brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadey-Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Brilliant review come back and stay with us again soon!! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I went with my boyfriend and we had a lovely time here. The location is great (10 mins from the centre), the room clean and spacious and the breakfast was really lovely too. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast staff were smiley and friendly which I'm sure isn't easy when they start early and it's probably busy! But great cooked breakfast which was much appreciated. So all in all I would really recommend this place!

Room Tip: I can' t think of anything. We were in one of the attic rooms on the top floor and even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.2 km away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price range (per night): $139 - $251
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. Gym, 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking. Electric car charging station free for residents Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing