We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hedley House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jorvik House(York)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B+B York(York)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,645)
Filter reviews
1,645 results
Traveller rating
896
525
155
49
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
525
155
49
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubcity centrecar parkrailway lineshort walkmuseum gardensno lifttop floorfriendly hotelquiet streetexcellent locationsmall hotelfull englishyork minsterfree parkingour room was spaciousenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 1,645 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a nice place to stay. I did not realize that the family room came with a kitchenette so we did not cook in the room, but it would have been easy to do. We took advantage of the breakfast each morning (very nice) and had a wonderful dinner in the dining room. The staff was terrific and the host provided plenty of room for our family. It was convenient to walk to all the tourist activities we wanted to do. The staff worked with us to make sure the room was located where we needed it (traveled with an 80 year old) so we did not have too many stairs. Easy to walk to from the train station - great directions.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMTDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have stayed twice in one month and service has been superb on both occasions. Every aspect has been top rate.

Room Tip: If you are a bit shaky on legs they will ensure ground floor accommodation if at all possible. However, all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thanks for the great review, hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The best thing about here has to be the staff and how friendly and welcoming they are. From eception to the ladies who served us breakfast were extreamly helpful when it came to asking about the local attractions (im sure they repeat themselves all the time about these, however they was very enthusiastic) On arrival we was given a handy little guide book (which has offers in of local attractions) and was informed on all the relevant information that we needed.

The rooms were clean, with a great shower and modern tv on the wall; they was also extreamly spacious which was great. The bed very comphy also! On our second day our beds was freshly made again, bins emptied and more milk & teabags added to our service tray. Having never been to York before we had no idea were to stay but we heard of these through the online voucher sites and am very glad we came!! Ideal location, not on the main steet (which we like) but in a great location to access everything, the little Sainsburys up the road was ideal on our walks back to the hotel.

The breakfast was a lovely wake up call for the day. Entering the breakfast room had a very welcoming feel, the staff greeting you with a warm hello and smile, each table dressed with a fresh rose and the music being played at just the right volume all complimented each other. The food itself was lovely, tasty with just the just sized portions and the toast coming out still hot enough so the butter melts was brilliant!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadey-Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Brilliant review come back and stay with us again soon!! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I went with my boyfriend and we had a lovely time here. The location is great (10 mins from the centre), the room clean and spacious and the breakfast was really lovely too. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast staff were smiley and friendly which I'm sure isn't easy when they start early and it's probably busy! But great cooked breakfast which was much appreciated. So all in all I would really recommend this place!

Room Tip: I can' t think of anything. We were in one of the attic rooms on the top floor and even though it was February, it was lovely and warm. I guess probably higher up and not above where breakfast is served is always better but I didn't stay in one of those rooms so can't comment.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Three of us stayed for a girl friend reunion for two nights, sharing a triple room. Great for catching up and chatting 'til late. Excellent location - a beautiful 10 minute walk to the city centre via the museum gardens. Though beware, this is locked at night. A private car park is on site that was free and a very reasonable £5 charge after we checked out so we could shop a tad more and extend our time together.
All the staff, Sara, Sarah and Mandy were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was large and spotlessly clean with a good sized shower room - even three ladies managed to juggle adequate time in there!
The only minor gripe would be the lack of a plug by the mirror, which when various hair dryers and straightners were required, this was awkward. However, on request, an extension lead was provided so it was all sorted.
All said, location, staff, food - dinner on our first night as we chatted for so long we lost track of time, was excellent and provided on the spur of the moment as we hadn't booked - room, facilities were all spot on.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doobles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you Ladies, great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us!! What would we do with out the occasional extension lead!! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews