We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A professionally-run establishment with polite, friendly staff.”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Having a disability, the staff had the courtesy to put us in ground- floor room with en-suite facilities. The room itself was huge and refreshingly spacious. The bed was a super-king size and almost as comfortable as my own at home. Staff were always polite and eager to help with queries and issues. The saying goes,"Breakfast is the most important meal of the day" - Hedley House certainly recognises this and provide a full, healthy breakfast. Overall, it was a very comfortable two days and a great base to discover York for the first time. Would definitely recommend and come again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shabiraziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

We try very hard to cater for individual needs. Great to hear you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. See you again soon we hope!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,142 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights this last weekend having booked through kgb deals - £99 for 2 nights with breakfast. Wasn't sure what to expect with this being out first kgb break, but it was very good value and we had a lovely weekend.

All staff were very polite, helpful and extremely efficient. Parking was free (bonus!) and we arrived before check in and were able to leave our car there. Free wifi also available.

Breakfast was very nice - a choice of juices, cereals, fruit, toast and cooked breakfast (which was grilled and very tasty). The staff at breakfast worked very hard and were very efficient. Evening meal is available, but we didn't eat in the hotel as we like to eat out.

Room (number 5) was small but clean and had everything we needed. Although, as somebody has previously commented, there was very little room at the foot of the bed, making it difficult to manoueuvre around - however, this was a minor issue. The room walls were quite thin and I could hear the trains (traintrack in front of the hotel) but they didn't run through the night, and it really wasn't too much of a problem to us.

Hotel a short walk to the centre, approx 5 minutes to the Minster. There is a Sainsbury's local nearby which is handy if you need any essentials. The indian restaurant which is on the street heading in to the centre was VERY good.

All in all, we had a very nice, enjoyable stay. I would stay at Hedley House again and would recommend, especially if you can get a deal.

Room Tip: Room 5 was on the first floor, at the front of the hotel. Although was quite small, shower cubicle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprowenhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you for your review, the KGB deal was a fantastic offer!! Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Hedley House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel and service was faultless. A delightful stay and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieKendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Absolutely perfect guests too!!!! Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I have just got back from a really lovely stay in York. Our children bought us two nights Bed and breakfast at Hedley house. Our only complaint is that we were not there longer! What a great place. Room, staff, food and location were all first class. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

What a lovely gift to receive!! Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Paid £99 for two nights b&b within two minutes walk of York minster can't ask for anymore, really friendly staff , clean and spacious room nice food would defiantly book again the next time I visit York

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,522 reviews
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around York

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $153 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing